IU football signs highly regarded recruiting class

Kevin Wilson Twenty-one student-athletes will continue their football playing careers at Indiana University, head coach Kevin Wilson announced on Wednesday. Wilson's first recruiting class includes the 2010 Indiana Mr. Football award winner in addition to one four-star recruit and 16 three-star recruits in the and rankings.  Full Story

Bayer posts fastest mile in the world for 2011, wins Big Ten Athlete of the Week

Andy Bayer

Andy Bayer has been named the Big Ten Track Athlete of the Week for the week of Jan. 23-30, the conference has announced. Bayer won the award for the second consecutive week after posting world-leading times in the 3,000 meters and the mile in consecutive weekends. Bayer took home his sixth Big Ten weekly honor (two cross country, three indoor, one outdoor).

 Full Story

Hoosier men’s soccer inks eight in 2011 recruiting class

Todd Yeagley

Indiana University head men's soccer coach Todd Yeagley announced this week that Jack Coleman (Norman, Okla.), Lance Davis (Washington, Ind.), Patrick Doody (Naperville, Ill.), Kyle Sparks (Avon, Ind.), Michael Soderlund (Boise, Idaho), Sean Weidman (Indianapolis, Ind.), Aris Zafeiratos (Athens, Greece) and Eriq Zavaleta (Westfield, Ind.) will continue their soccer careers at Indiana beginning in the fall of 2011.

 Full Story

Diving Takes Combined and Women's Titles at USA Diving Nationals

Jeff Huber

With a strong team performance, the Indiana University diving team came home this weekend with the women's team and combined collegiate titles at the USA Diving Winter National Championships in Iowa City, Iowa. Former Hoosier Christina Loukas won her ninth USA Diving national championship when she finished tied for first (339.60) in the women's 3-meter competition.

 Full Story

Wilson rounds out staff

Darius Willis

Jemal Singleton, Brett Diersen and Brandon Shelby have joined Indiana Head Football Coach Kevin Wilson's coaching staff, Wilson announced this week. Wilson's full-time coaching staff is now complete.

 Full Story

Women’s tennis honored by President McRobbie

Leslie Hureau

Indiana University President Michael A. McRobbie hosted a luncheon at the Bryan House on Friday, Jan. 21, to honor the women's tennis team for earning the Herbert Cup trophy for the 2010 spring semester. The Herbert Cup is given each semester to the IU athletic program with the highest team GPA.

 Full Story

Previous Issue

Faith Sherrill

The previous issue of 24 SPORTS/1 TEAM featured star track athletes Derek Drouin and Faith Sherrill, both of whom recently set the bar for the nation in their respective sports. Also, former IU football quarterback Randle El heads to the Super Bowl, two IU soccer players are selected in MLS first round, football coach Kevin Wilson adds to his coaching staff, soccer star Will Bruin finishes second in the Hermann Trophy voting and scholar-athletes and CHAMPS Champ of the Month are honored.

 Full Story

  Copyright © 2010 The Trustees of Indiana University | 107 S. Indiana Ave.  |  Bloomington, IN 47405-7000  |  Comments:  |   Subscribe  

Delivery Tip: To ensure delivery to your inbox (not junk folders), please add to your address book or contacts.