Indiana University

Skip to:

  1. Search
  2. Breadcrumb Navigation
  3. Content
  4. Browse by Topic
  5. Services & Resources
  6. Additional Resources
  7. Multimedia News

Inaugural John W. Ryan Fellowship awarded

July 16, 2007

BLOOMINGTON, Ind. -- Emily Loehr, an honors graduate from the University of Minnesota-Morris who will join Indiana University's School of Public and Environmental Affairs as a master's student this fall, is the first recipient of a fellowship named for IU President Emeritus John W. Ryan.

The fellowship draws from a $1 million endowment established last fall by alumni and other IU supporters connected to Ryan. Earnings from the endowment and matching funds from the university will enable the school to award four $25,000 fellowships annually when fully implemented.

Loehr's previous awards, received while an undergraduate, include the Sun M. Kahng Memorial Scholarship, Gieske Summer Internship Scholarship, Scholar of the College Award, General Mills Scholarship, Chancellor's scholarship and placement on the dean's list. Loehr also served as an intern with Eagle Forum in Washington, D.C and with Congressman John Kline's district office.

The fellowship requires students to work closely with a state or local government agency or with a nonprofit organization while pursuing a degree. Loehr will be working with the Bloomington Economic Development Commission (BEDC) to analyze key issues and recommend solutions and courses of action for the Bloomington community.

Ryan has served Indiana University as a professor, vice president and chancellor of regional campuses and, for 16 years, as its president. During his tenure as president, Ryan forged numerous international relationships for IU, making it a global university.

Ryan was instrumental in the creation of the School of Public and Environmental Affairs. The school is now a world leader among peer institutions. U.S. News & World Report has ranked SPEA Bloomington third in the nation among the best graduate public affairs programs. SPEA has earned national distinction for innovative educational programs that combine administrative, social, economic, financial and environmental disciplines.

For more information, contact Carla Cowden, SPEA, 812.856.0509 or