Indiana University

News Release

Monday, August 2, 2010

Last modified: Monday, August 2, 2010

2010 Wells Scholars announced at Indiana University

  1. Print this page

20 top students to receive Wells Scholarships

Aug. 2, 2010

EDITORS: Links to photographs of each Wells Scholar are available with their biographical information below. The following links will take you directly to the student in your city.

Hena Ahmed, of Carmel, Ind.
Michael Auslen, of Arvada, Colo.
Steven Brisley, of Carmel, Ind.
Adam Coey, of Cincinnati, Ohio
Elizabeth Davis, of Kokomo, Ind.
Sidney Fletcher. of Zionsville, Ind.
Kristin Froehle, of Indianapolis
Liron Ganel, of Chesterfield, Mo.
Rachel Green, of Germantown, Tenn.
Scott Kennedy, of Indianapolis
Shannon Manley, of Loveland, Ohio
Najja Marshall, of St. Louis, Mo.
Meredith McKay, of Indianapolis
Andrew McLaren, of Indianapolis
Lauryn Quick, of Lebanon, Ind.
Anup Segu, of Munster, Ind.
Ronak Shah, of Indianapolis
Brianna Terrell, of Mason, Ohio
Sydney West, of Indianapolis
Xiuzhe William Zhao, of Kokomo, Ind.

Bookmark and Share

BLOOMINGTON, Ind. -- Indiana University announced today (Aug. 2) that 18 entering freshmen and two current IU juniors will join the more than 440 others who have been named Wells Scholars since the first class enrolled in 1990.

The incoming class includes several students who are the first from their high schools to receive this prestigious award. Among them is Lauryn Quick, who is the first Wells Scholar from Lebanon High School, from which Wells -- IU's late president and chancellor -- graduated in 1920.

The scholarship, created in honor of Wells, ranks among the most competitive and prestigious awards offered by any American university. Wells Scholars have gone on to win close to 60 national and international scholarships, fellowships and grants, such as the Rhodes, Truman, Marshall, Soros, Mitchell, Churchill, Gates Cambridge, Fulbright and Goldwater.

Today, many Wells Scholar alumni contribute to Indiana as residents, and others are studying or working throughout the country and overseas as doctors, teachers, business people, clergy, attorneys and artists. Some have gone on to clerk for justices of the Indiana and U.S. Supreme courts or to serve in other positions in government.

There are Wells Scholars who hold senior positions in major corporations or who have started their own businesses. Others are engaged in international relief and service efforts in the United States and abroad or are scholars and teachers at renowned educational institutions such as Yale, MIT, the University of Chicago, Michigan and IU itself.

On his 90th birthday, Chancellor Wells was officially presented with the prestigious scholarship program as a gift from his many friends and admirers. After his death in 2000, this community of talented and dedicated young scholars remains as a permanent legacy of his educational vision.

Incoming freshmen Wells Scholars receive full tuition and course-related fees, as well as a living stipend, for four years of undergraduate study on the Bloomington campus. Newly named recipients who already are students at IU receive tuition, fees and a stipend for their remaining undergraduate years.

The Wells program also offers special seminars; an optional year of study abroad; support for a summer research or service project, creative activity or internship; and a wide range of extracurricular events and activities. The Wells program emphasizes close interaction with faculty, academic and career advising, opportunities for community service and contact with distinguished visitors.

Freshman Wells Scholars are nominated by their high schools or the IU Office of Admissions and selected for having demonstrated exceptional qualities of character, leadership and distinction both inside and outside of the classroom. Internal Wells Scholars are nominated by IU Bloomington faculty and selected for similar qualities.

The 20 new Wells Scholars, their hometowns, and their high schools are:

For more information about the Wells Scholars Program, go to or call 812-855-9491.

Web Version

IU News Room
530 E. Kirkwood Ave., Suite 201
Bloomington, IN 47408-4003