Indiana University

News Release

Thursday, January 26, 2012

Last modified: Thursday, January 26, 2012

Ten faculty at Indiana University awarded Fulbright grants for teaching and research worldwide

  1. Print this page

Jan. 26, 2012

BLOOMINGTON, Ind. -- Ten faculty members at Indiana University have been awarded Fulbright grants for the 2011-12 academic year.

The Fulbright recipients represent three IU campuses -- Bloomington, Indianapolis and Fort Wayne -- and their research and academic activity take place in countries across the globe such as Brazil, Germany, Hungary, Poland, Japan, Peru, Russia Sweden and Turkey.

This year's recipients stem from a range of departments and schools, including the Kelley School of Business and the College of Arts and Sciences at IU Bloomington. They include scholars of design, finance, folklore and ethnomusicology, journalism, political science, physics and religious studies.

Recipients of faculty and staff Fulbright awards for the 2011-12 academic year are:

"The continued success of our faculty who are selected as Fulbright scholars underscores IU's engagement efforts worldwide," said David Zaret, IU vice president for international affairs. "We are proud of our scholars who will represent the university worldwide, while adding to the depth of their knowledge for the betterment of our students in Indiana."

Fulbright awards for faculty and staff are managed by the Council for International Exchange of Scholars. The CIES Core Scholar Program for faculty sends about 800 faculty and professionals to countries around the world.

Web Version

IU News Room
530 E. Kirkwood Ave., Suite 201
Bloomington, IN 47408-4003