Indiana University

Skip to:

  1. Search
  2. Breadcrumb Navigation
  3. Content
  4. Browse by Topic
  5. Services & Resources
  6. Additional Resources
  7. Multimedia News

Media Contacts

Mike Wright
IU Alumni Association

Last modified: Thursday, May 1, 2008

IU Alumni Association names recipients of Linsmith Scholarships

May 1, 2008

BLOOMINGTON, Ind. -- Two Indiana University students will receive the Charles and Jo Ann Linsmith Scholarship from the IU Alumni Association during Cream and Crimson Weekend June 13-15. Christina Duff, of Prospect, Ky., and Julienne K. Turner, of Goshen, Ind., will each receive a $2,000 scholarship.

Duff is a junior at IU Bloomington and a member of the Student Alumni Association, where she served as director of Campus Partnerships this spring. She also participated in SAA's Member Corps, working to get students more involved, and received an Outstanding Member Award for her efforts. Duff is majoring in secondary education with a concentration in English and plans to pursue a career teaching high school English.

Turner, a junior at IU South Bend, served that campus's SAA as both vice president and secretary this year. She also works part-time in the IU South Bend Alumni Office. She has been selected to participate in LeaderShape, a leadership skills-building program, and will return as president of the IU South Bend SAA for the 2008-09 school year. In addition, Turner volunteers for many organizations and was a DreamsWork mentor at an elementary school. She is pursuing a double major in international business and economics and plans to further her education toward an MBA at IU Bloomington.

The Linsmith Scholarship is open to the children and grandchildren of IUAA staff members, to student leaders of IUAA-sponsored organizations and to IUAA student employees. Selection is based on outstanding character, financial need and academic achievement.

The Linsmith Scholarship was established by Jo Ann Linsmith, of Bradenton, Fla. She and her husband, the late Charles Linsmith, served IU as devoted alumni. Jo Ann helped found and served as president of the former IU Alumni Club of Sarasota and Manatee Counties (Fla.), which is now the Florida Suncoast Chapter of the IUAA. She served on the IUAA Executive Council and received the IUAA President's Award in 2000. Through the Linsmith Scholarships, she wishes to recognize the service and devotion of the association's staff members and students.

Duff and Turner will receive their awards on June 13 at an IUAA awards banquet at Alumni Hall, Indiana Memorial Union, in Bloomington.

The IUAA is dedicated to serving the university and its diverse alumni, students and friends. As one of the nation's largest alumni organizations, serving more than 505,000 graduates worldwide, the IUAA provides many programs and services to its members, nonmember alumni, and the university. For information, visit or call 800-824-3044.