Indiana University

Skip to:

  1. Search
  2. Breadcrumb Navigation
  3. Content
  4. Browse by Topic
  5. Services & Resources
  6. Additional Resources
  7. Multimedia News

Inauguration of Michael McRobbie

On Oct. 18, 2007, Michael McRobbie was formally inaugurated as the 18th president of Indiana University. Surrounded by thousands of faculty, staff, students, dignitaries and friends of IU, McRobbie accepted the jewel and chain of office and outlined his plan for the future of Indiana University.

IU President Emeritus John Ryan (right) shares words of wisdom with IU's 18th President, Michael McRobbie, at the inauguration Oct. 18.

IU First Lady Laurie Burns McRobbie (far left), Chief of Staff Karen Adams and Bloomington Mayor Mark Kruzan enjoy the inaugural celebration.

Edwin Marshall, university grand marshal, leads the inaugural procession into the IU Auditorium.

The inaugural procession files through the lobby of the IU Auditorium.

Jacobs School of Music Senior Lecturer Sylvia McNair performs during the inauguration of President Michael McRobbie.

The jewel and chain of office are placed on the shoulders of IU President Michael McRobbie by university grand marshal Edwin Marshall and First Lady Laurie Burns McRobbie as IU Presidents Emeritus Thomas Erlich (far left) and John Ryan look on.

Newly inaugurated IU President McRobbie speaks to the university community.

Presidents Emeritus Adam Herbert (far left), Gerald Bepko, Myles Brand, Thomas Ehrlich and John Ryan, university grand marshal Edwin Marshall, President Michael McRobbie, Laurie Burns McRobbie and trustee President Stephen Ferguson pose for a picture after the presentation of the jewel and chain.

Festive "Celebrate IU" cookies await guests after the inauguration of Michael McRobbie.

Vice Chair of the IU Alumni Association Donna Spears (left) congratulates newly inaugurated IU President Michael McRobbie.