Indiana University

Skip to:

  1. Search
  2. Breadcrumb Navigation
  3. Content
  4. Browse by Topic
  5. Services & Resources
  6. Additional Resources
  7. Multimedia News

Mathematics Department

Three students at IU campuses named 2013 Goldwater Scholars

Benjamin Seitzman

Three students at Indiana University campuses have been awarded Barry M. Goldwater Scholarships, which are presented to the country's most promising undergraduate college students in math, science and engineering. Full Story >>

Indiana University to present Distinguished Teaching Awards

IU Limestone Crest

In keeping with annual tradition, Indiana University will salute continued great teaching at the university, which marks its founding 193 years ago this spring. Fifteen faculty members and four doctoral students will be recognized for outstanding teaching, research and service to the university. The award recipients teach at IU Bloomington, Indiana University-Purdue University Indianapolis, IU East, IU Kokomo, IU Northwest and IU South Bend. Full Story >>

IU professor receives Mathematical Association of America's Indiana Distinguished Teacher Award

Chuck Livingston

An Indiana University professor of mathematics credited by his peers with teaching the most diverse set of courses in the history of the department -- 38 courses with distinct catalog numbers -- has received the Distinguished Teaching Award from the Indiana Section of the Mathematical Association of America. Full Story >>

College of Arts and Sciences moves to Owen Hall, administrative offices open March 19

Owen Hall

The Office of the Dean of the Indiana University College of Arts and Sciences is packing and labeling boxes this week, preparing to move to Owen Hall, just steps north of its current home in Kirkwood Hall. The College's administrative offices will close Friday, March 8 at 5 p.m. and remain closed through Monday, March 18. Full Story >>

Five IU professors promoted to distinguished rank

Limestone IU

Five professors from Indiana University Bloomington and the IU School of Medicine at Indiana University-Purdue University Indianapolis have been promoted to the distinguished rank. They are David Burr, professor of anatomy and cell biology; Edward G. Carmines, Warner O. Chapman Professor and James H. Rudy Professor of Political Science; Keith Clay, professor of biology; Nets Katz; professor of mathematics; and Mervin Yoder, M.D., professor of pediatrics. Full Story >>

IU presence prominent at 2013 AAAS with presenters, conveners and record new fellows recognized

Indiana University faculty members and graduate students will take part in the annual meeting of the American Association for the Advancement of Science, taking place Feb. 14 to 18 in at the Hynes Convention Center in Boston. Full Story >>