Indiana University

Skip to:

  1. Search
  2. Breadcrumb Navigation
  3. Content
  4. Browse by Topic
  5. Services & Resources
  6. Additional Resources
  7. Multimedia News

English Department

English professor appointed to direct Indiana University's Wells Scholars Program

Christoph Irmscher

Christoph Irmscher, Provost Professor of English in the College of Arts and Sciences, has been named director of Indiana University Bloomington's Wells Scholars Program, which provides scholarships and academic opportunities for some of the campus's most promising students. Full Story >>

Book from Indiana University scholar explores emergence of 'new antisemitism'

Rosenfeld, Alvin

New forms of virulent antisemitism -- tied not so much to religious and racial hatred but more to politics and ideology -- have emerged in recent years Europe, parts of the Muslim world and South America. Rosenfeld is the editor of "Resurgent Antisemitism: Global Perspectives," a new book edited by Indiana University professor Alvin Rosenfeld, explores the phenomenon comprehensively and in incisive detail. Full Story >>

IU experts available to discuss 'Great Gatsby' in advance of new film

The Great Gatsby book cover

In conjunction with the upcoming release of director Baz Luhrmann's film adaptation of author F. Scott Fitzgerald's classic novel, "The Great Gatsby," Indiana University has several faculty experts who can provide insights on various aspects of the author, the book's themes and other details. Full Story >>

IU's Poynter Center announces inaugural Jesse Fine Fellowships

Poynter Center

The Poynter Center for the Study of Ethics and American Institutions has announced that four Indiana University Bloomington faculty will receive the inaugural Jesse Fine Fellowships in Practical and Professional Ethics. Full Story >>

IU Bloomington names Provost Professors, Sonneborn Award recipient

Anne Pyburn

K. Anne Pyburn, a professor in the Department of Anthropology, has been selected to receive Indiana University Bloomington's 2013 Tracy M. Sonneborn Award. Also, Pyburn and Christoph Irmscher and Stephen Watt, both professors in the Department of English, have been named Provost Professors. Full Story >>

Five IU Bloomington professors awarded 2013 Guggenheim Fellowships

IU Limestone Crest

Five Indiana University Bloomington professors in the College of Arts and Sciences are recipients of the prestigious John Simon Guggenheim Fellowship for 2013. Poet Ross Gay, Polish translator Bill Johnston, biologist James Bever, linguist Robert Fulk and religious studies professor David Haberman are among the fellows notified earlier this month. Full Story >>