Indiana University

Skip to:

  1. Search
  2. Breadcrumb Navigation
  3. Content
  4. Browse by Topic
  5. Services & Resources
  6. Additional Resources
  7. Multimedia News

Materials Chemistry

IU chemists produce star-shaped macromolecule that grabs large anions


Chemists at Indiana University Bloomington have created a symmetrical, five-sided macrocycle that is easy to synthesize and has characteristics that may help expand the molecular tool box available to researchers in biology, chemistry and materials sciences. Full Story >>

IU chemists named Sloan Research Fellows

Erin Carlson and Sara Skrabalak

Indiana University Bloomington chemists Erin Carlson and Sara Skrabalak have been named Sloan Research Fellows, the Alfred P. Sloan Foundation announced. They are among 126 outstanding U.S. and Canadian researchers to receive the fellowships for 2013. Full Story >>

IU chemists Carlson, Skrabalak named Cottrell Scholars

Erin Carlson and Sara Skrabalak

Erin E. Carlson and Sara E. Skrabalak, assistant professors of chemistry at IU Bloomington, are among the 11 recipients in 2012 of Cottrell Scholar awards, a highly selective program that recognizes early-career researchers and promotes outstanding teaching. Carlson also has been awarded a 2012 National Science Foundation Faculty CAREER Award, the foundation's most prestigious award in support of junior faculty. Full Story >>

NSF grant to fund instrumentation for IU Nanoscale Characterization Facility

Skrabalak Lab Grant

The National Science Foundation has awarded $776,114 to Indiana University Bloomington researchers to acquire instrumentation for investigating how the nanoscale structure and composition of surfaces give rise to the unique properties of materials. The three-year grant, from the NSF Division of Materials Research, supports the purchase of an X-ray photoelectron spectrometer. Full Story >>

IU Bloomington chemist Flood honored by Royal Society of Chemistry

Amar Flood

Indiana University Bloomington chemist Amar Flood is the first recipient of the Royal Society of Chemistry's Cram Lehn Pederson Prize, the society recently announced. Flood will receive a 2000 ($3200) award and present an award lecture at the 6th International Symposium on Macrocyclic and Supramolecular Chemistry meeting in Brighton, England, this July. Sponsored by the RSC journal Chemical Communications, the Cram Lehn Pedersen Prize recognizes "significant, original and independent work in supramolecular chemistry by emerging investigators," according to a statement released by the society. Full Story >>

Outstanding Women in Science lecture to feature Caltech's award-winning Haile

Sossina Haile

Sossina Haile knows the heat of the sun can be used to convert water and carbon dioxide into energy that can be stored in a fuel cell. She's such a believer in the technology that she once brought her point home by drinking, on camera, the tailpipe emissions from a fuel-cell car. Educated at Massachusetts Institute of Technology and currently teaching materials science and chemical engineering at California Institute of Technology, Haile brings her Fulbright and Humboldt Scholar award-winning messages about sustainable energy to IU Bloomington's Whittenberger Auditorium for a public lecture Thursday. Full Story >>