Indiana University

Skip to:

  1. Search
  2. Breadcrumb Navigation
  3. Content
  4. Browse by Topic
  5. Services & Resources
  6. Additional Resources
  7. Multimedia News

Media Contacts

Robin Gress
IU Board of Trustees

Last modified: Tuesday, August 12, 2003

IU Board of Trustees to elect officers

The Indiana University Board of Trustees will elect officers and administer the oath of office to two trustees when it meets for its annual organizational meeting Thursday (Aug. 14) at 3:30 p.m. at the Indiana University-Purdue University Indianapolis campus in Room 132 of the University Place Conference Center.

Frederick F. Eichhorn Jr., current president, and Stephen L. Ferguson, current vice president, have been nominated to serve in those roles on the board for another term. Officers are elected for two years. Eichhorn, whose term on the board expires June 30, 2005, has served as president since April 2002. Ferguson has been vice president since August 2002. His current board term ends on June 30, 2004.

Cora Smith Breckenridge of Elkart, Ind., will take the oath of office again as she begins her third three-year term on the board. She was re-elected by alumni voters in June.

Erin Haag, a student at the Indiana University School of Medicine, will also take the oath of office as the student member of the board. She recently was appointed to a two-year term by Gov. Frank OBannon. Haag is in her third year at the medical school. She is seeking her medical degree and a doctorate in molecular biology and biochemistry.

Haag replaces Sacha Willsey, whose term ended June 30.

IU President Adam Herbert will also participate in his first meeting with the board.