Indiana University

Skip to:

  1. Search
  2. Breadcrumb Navigation
  3. Content
  4. Browse by Topic
  5. Services & Resources
  6. Additional Resources
  7. Multimedia News

Media Contacts

Ron Johnson
IU Student Media

Last modified: Tuesday, April 20, 2010

IU student publications recognized nationally and statewide

April 20, 2010

BLOOMINGTON — Indiana University Bloomington's student publications earned top awards this spring from both state and national associations.

Student Media Awards

IU's student publications, including its daily newspaper and website, magazines and yearbook all received honors this year.

Print-Quality Photo

In March IU publications won five Columbia Scholastic Press Association Crown Awards -- the top publications honors from the association. Winning two Gold Crowns were two semesters of the Indiana Daily Student newspaper, fall 2008 and spring 2009. Also winning a Gold Crown was the IDS's website

Winning Silver Crowns for IU were the 2009 Arbutus yearbook and the current website for Inside magazine

IU students also won 25 CSPA Gold Circle Awards -- including 13 first places -- for individual achievement in yearbook, online news and online magazine.

At its 37th annual convention, March 24-28, in Los Angeles, College Newspaper Business and Advertising Managers Inc. recognized the IDS as the newspaper of the year for the more-than-30,000 circulation category.

The IDS was recognized as the best of category for the best online display ad award. Along with this title, the newspaper won several first-place awards, which contributed to the overall award for newspaper of the year.

First-place awards included best display ad (black and white), best rate card/media kit and best classified group promotion.

IU student publications also won three first-place titles and more than 90 individual awards at the 51st annual Indiana Collegiate Press Association (ICPA) conference and awards ceremony, April 9-10.

The IDS won first place as Division I newspaper of the year and first place for advertising publication of the year. ICPA recognized as best overall website with a first place for online website of the year.

Among the individual awards, several first-place titles stand out. IDS features reporter Alex Benson of Vernon Hills, Ill., won first place for best non-breaking reporting online. The Arbutus yearbook photography staff won first in best sports photography for their coverage of Little 500 and men's basketball.

More than 40 publications and 150 student journalists from across the state attended the ICPA convention.

Two IU students were named incoming officers for the ICPA 2010-2011 year. Caitlin Johnston, of Crown Point, Ind., was named president and Lindsey Erdody, of Bay City, Mich., was named vice president for large newspapers. IU Student Media's editorial adviser Ruth Witmer was appointed as executive director of the ICPA board.

"Our students work very hard on the newspaper, yearbook, magazine and sites, and their readers reap the benefits," Ron Johnson, student-media director said. "It's great, too, when they get such national recognition, and more so when it's so abundant."

The Indiana Daily Student, first published in 1867 and becoming daily in 1899, publishes 15,000 copies per day, with an online readership of more than 150,000 users.

For the complete list of IU Student Media winners, please visit