Indiana University

Skip to:

  1. Search
  2. Breadcrumb Navigation
  3. Content
  4. Browse by Topic
  5. Services & Resources
  6. Additional Resources
  7. Multimedia News

Media Contacts

Robin Roy Gress
Indiana University Trustees

Last modified: Tuesday, October 5, 2010

IU seeking applicants for student trustee

Oct. 5, 2010

BLOOMINGTON, Ind. -- A unique leadership opportunity will open to all full-time IU students on Monday (Oct. 11), when applications for the student position on the Board of Trustees become available.

Indiana University Seal

Applications will be available online at and in the following offices and locations on each campus:

  • IU Bloomington: IUSA (IMU 387); Board of Trustees (IMU M005).
  • IUPUI: Campus and Community Life (Campus Center, CE 370); Graduate Office (UN 207); Housing and Residence Life (BR 105).
  • IU East: Campus Life (Springwood Hall 107); Chancellor's Office (Springwood Hall 204).
  • IU Kokomo: Student Activities (Kelley Center 210); Chancellor's Office (Hunt Hall 212).
  • IU Northwest: Student Life (Savannah 217); Chancellor's Office (Library 107).
  • IU South Bend: Athletics and Recreation (SAC 130); Housing and Residential Life (Community Building front desk); Chancellor's Office (Administration 250).
  • IU Southeast: Campus Life (University Center South, Room 010); Student Affairs (University Center South, Room 155); Chancellor's Office (University Center South, Room 156); Residence Life (Meadow Lodge).
  • IPFW: Chancellor's Office (Kettler Hall 166).

Applications are due Jan. 21, 2011, at 5 p.m.

IU has had a student trustee for three decades. The first student trustee, Leslie C. Shively, was sworn in on Jan. 1, 1976. The current office holder, Abbey Stemler, who is a third-year law student and an MBA student in the Kelley School of Business on the IU Bloomington campus, is the 18th student to hold the position.

Stemler, whose term expires June 30, 2011, said, "Serving on the board has been an incredible honor and responsibility. Every day, I am challenged to understand a variety of perspectives and make decisions that will affect the institutions for decades to come."

William R. Cast, chair of the board, urged students to apply, saying the position provides students with an opportunity to have a voice in shaping IU's future.

"The board relies on the student trustee for balanced opinion and reporting of important trends," Cast said. "The student trustee who can bring a broad knowledge of student life and its associated problems, as well as a background of participation on his or her campus, can play an important role on the board."

Cast noted that the student trustee is a fully vested member of the board with all rights, responsibilities and privileges accorded to all trustees. He or she is expected to participate in at least six board meetings a year, serve on board committees, take part in various university functions and ceremonies, and complete any assigned projects.

The only difference between the student trustee and all other trustees is the length of term: student trustees serve two years, while all others serve three.

Any IU student enrolled at any of IU's eight campuses may apply. The student trustee must be a full-time student for the duration of the appointment. He or she may be an undergraduate or graduate student.

The term of office begins July 1, 2011. Applications for the student position will be reviewed by the 2011 IU Student Trustee Search and Screen Committee, which is appointed by the president of the university, and is composed of students from IU's campuses and a representative of Gov. Mitch Daniels.

The committee will interview selected finalists on April 1 and 2 in Indianapolis. All finalists must participate in the interviews on one of those dates. According to state law, the committee must forward 10 names to the governor, who usually makes the final selection by June 30.

The Board of Trustees is Indiana University's governing board, its legal owner and final authority. The board holds the university's financial, physical, and human assets and operations in trust for future generations. The board was created in 1820. Today it has nine members, six appointed by the governor, and three elected by alumni.