Indiana University

Skip to:

  1. Search
  2. Breadcrumb Navigation
  3. Content
  4. Browse by Topic
  5. Services & Resources
  6. Additional Resources
  7. Multimedia News

Media Contacts

Ron Johnson
IU Student Media

Last modified: Thursday, November 3, 2011

Indiana University student publications score a trifecta of top national honors

Nov. 3, 2011

BLOOMINGTON, Ind. -- Indiana University Bloomington was the only college campus whose newspaper, yearbook and magazine won Pacemaker Awards -- the top prizes of collegiate journalism -- at the Fall National College Media Convention this past weekend in Orlando, Fla.

The Indiana Daily Student newspaper, Arbutus yearbook and Inside magazine each won a Pacemaker, the Associated Collegiate Press award that recognizes a publication's overall achievement in content, writing, editing, design and visuals.

"Our student journalists work long hours to serve their readers," said Ron Johnson, IU Student Media director, "and these awards recognize their commitment and skill. The Pacemakers are the pinnacle of college journalism."

These Pacemakers are the 17th for the IDS, the 13th for the Arbutus and the first for Inside, now in its sixth year.

The Daily Student's site,, also won first place in the convention's best-of-show competition for multimedia presentations for its interactive feature on the 9/11 anniversary.

In individual categories, IU won three national first places:

  • Larry Buchanan, a May 2011 journalism graduate, continued his success as a collegiate designer, winning two first places -- in newspaper front page and in illustration. Buchanan, who has won numerous design honors, was recognized in 2010 as the nation's top collegiate designer by the Society for News Design.
  • Rachel Stark, another May 2011 journalism graduate, won first place in the overall sports writing category for her story "Runner's High," written for Inside magazine. Stark has won other national honors for her writing, and she contributed to IU's back-to-back national championships in the Hearst Writing Contest.

Here is more about IU's other award winners:

Pacemaker Awards

  • Newspaper, four-year daily, Indiana Daily Student, 2010-11, Sarah Brubeck and Jake Wright, editors
  • Yearbook, above 300 pages, 2010 Arbutus, Katie Myrick, editor.
  • Magazine, feature magazine, Inside, 2010-11, Sarah Hutchins, editor.

Best of Show

  • First, online, multimedia presentation, 9/11 anniversary. Charlie Scudder, online editor, and Vaibhav Nachankar and Anand Hegde, programmers, IDS.
  • Third, newspaper special edition, 9/11 anniversary, IDS.
  • Sixth, feature magazine, Inside, Sarah Hutchins and Stephanie Doctrow, editors.
  • Eighth, 2011 Arbutus, Christine Ashack, editor.
  • Eighth, publication website, large school,

Other Individual awards

  • Fourth, design, infographic, Buchanan, IDS.
  • Fifth, design, newspaper page, Michael Auslen, IDS.
  • Honorable mention, advertising, house ad, Allison Tylek, IDS.
  • HM, photo, environmental portrait, Zach Hetrick, Inside.

IU Student Media has a rich tradition of serving the university as a student-learning lab. The first issue of the Indiana Student was published in 1867. It later became the Indiana Daily Student in 1899. The Arbutus yearbook was first published in 1893. The newest publication, Inside magazine, first hit the stands in 2006.

Today the IDS reaches more than 45,000 people and an online community of more than 150,000 unique users. The Arbutus yearbook publishes approximately 2,000 books each year. Since 1969, IU Student Media has been a self-supporting, auxiliary unit of IU and located within the School of Journalism. The editor-in-chief is the final authority on editorial content.