Indiana University

Skip to:

  1. Search
  2. Breadcrumb Navigation
  3. Content
  4. Browse by Topic
  5. Services & Resources
  6. Additional Resources
  7. Multimedia News

Media Contacts

Ken Turchi
IU Maurer School of Law

Last modified: Tuesday, April 10, 2012

IU Maurer School of Law presents teaching awards

April 10, 2012

BLOOMINGTON, Ind. -- Four Indiana University Maurer School of Law faculty members and one adjunct professor were honored April 9 with prestigious teaching awards from the law school. They are:

  • Amy G. Applegate, clinical professor of law and director, Viola J. Taliaferro Family and Children Mediation Clinic
  • Jayanth K. Krishnan, professor of law
  • Jeffrey Evans Stake, Robert A. Lucas Chair of Law
  • Leandra Lederman, William W. Oliver Professor of Tax Law
  • Judge Marc R. Kellams, adjunct professor of law

Maurer School of Law 2012 Teaching Award winners are, from left, Judge Marc R. Kellams, Amy G. Applegate, Jeffrey Evans Stake, Leandra Lederman and Jayanth K. Krishnan.

"Excellent teaching is a core commitment of our educational mission, and our faculty takes that commitment very seriously. There are many wonderful teachers at the Maurer School of Law, and it is an honor to celebrate their achievements," said Hannah L. Buxbaum, interim dean and John E. Schiller Chair in Legal Ethics, who presented the awards.

Trustees' Teaching Awards were presented to Amy G. Applegate, Jayanth K. Krishnan and Jeffrey Evans Stake.

Applegate, who teaches a course in domestic relations mediation, was described as knowledgeable and passionate about the material she teaches and deeply connected with her students. Krishnan teaches property law, immigration law and comparative legal systems and was cited for his enthusiasm in the classroom, as well as for his efforts to expand the law school's global presence. Stake was praised for being an outstanding lecturer who is well-organized and detailed and who sets high standards for himself and his students. He teaches property law and wills and trusts.

Lederman was presented with the Leon H. Wallace Teaching Award. Named for the school's former dean, it is the highest teaching honor given to IU Maurer School of Law faculty. She was praised for her patience and diligence in the classroom and described as approachable and kind to her students, creating a welcoming and effective learning environment while emphasizing both the practical and theoretical aspects of tax law.

Kellams, JD'78, was recognized for his work as an adjunct professor teaching trial advocacy. Students cited not only his wisdom and experience, but also his ability to translate those attributes into successful instruction. This year marks his 30th as an adjunct at the law school.

The teaching award recipients were chosen by a special committee of students who presented their recommendations to the dean.