Indiana University

Skip to:

  1. Search
  2. Breadcrumb Navigation
  3. Content
  4. Browse by Topic
  5. Services & Resources
  6. Additional Resources
  7. Multimedia News

Media Contacts

Elizabeth Allington
IU McKinney School of Law

Last modified: Wednesday, May 2, 2012

IU McKinney School of Law presents Distinguished Alumni and Early Career Achievement awards

May 2, 2012

INDIANAPOLIS -- The Indiana University Robert H. McKinney School of Law has announced recipients of the school's 2012 Distinguished Alumni Awards and Early Career Achievement Awards.

Fred Glass

Photo by Mike Dickbernd

Fred Glass

Print-Quality Photo

The law school, at Indiana University-Purdue University Indianapolis, will host its awards ceremony May 4.

Distinguished Alumni Award recipients are Fred Glass, 1984 graduate and IU vice president and director of intercollegiate athletics; Jane E. Magnus-Stinson, 1983 graduate and judge of the U.S. District Court for the Southern District of Indiana; and Michael W. Wells, 1979 graduate and president of REI Investment.

Glass is known for his strides not only in making key coaching hires for IU athletics, but also for stressing academic excellence for student-athletes. He also has played a central role in several major sports initiatives in Indianapolis, including the development of Lucas Oil Stadium and the expanded Indiana Convention Center, as well as bringing major NCAA events to the capital city. Formerly a partner in the law firm Faegre Baker Daniels, Glass served as chief of staff to then-Gov. Evan Bayh from 1989 to 1993.

Jane E. Magnus-Stinson

Jane E. Magnus-Stinson

Print-Quality Photo

Magnus-Stinson, a cum laude graduate of the law school, was sworn in as a judge of the U.S. District Court in June 2010 after being nominated in January of the same year. She had served as a magistrate judge in that court since 2007.

Twice elected to the Marion Superior Court, Magnus-Stinson served there from 1995 to 2007 and served as associate presiding judge during 2005-06. She was counsel and deputy chief of staff to then-Gov. Bayh from 1991 to 1995, and early in her career had a civil litigation practice at the firm Lewis Wagner. She is a member, and former chair, of the law school's Board of Visitors.

Michael W. Wells

Michael W. Wells

Print-Quality Photo

Wells, a magna cum laude graduate of the law school, has been involved with several of the most significant real estate projects in Indianapolis, including Circle Centre Mall, Emmis Communications Headquarters and the JW Marriott. In addition to his real estate work, he manages the portfolio of real estate investments owned by REI Real Estate Partnership.

His community involvement includes serving as immediate past chairman of the Indianapolis Zoo; executive committee member of the YMCA of Greater Indianapolis, Indiana Chamber of Commerce, and Building Owners and Managers Association; immediate past president of Crossroads Council of the Boy Scouts of America; and a member of the Benjamin Harrison Presidential Site Board of Directors. He also is a member of the law school's Board of Visitors.

Early Career Awards

Early Career Awards will be given to Chasity Q. Thompson, 2002 graduate and assistant dean of the Office of Professional Development at the law school; and 9th District Congressman Todd Young, a 2006 graduate.

Chasity Thompson

Chasity Q. Thompson

Print-Quality Photo

Thompson became associate dean of the Office of Professional Development in 2006 after serving as associate director for almost two years. She served as a clerk to then-Chief Justice Randall T. Shepard of the Indiana Supreme Court immediately after law school in 2002. She has served on the executive committee of the Indiana State Bar Association Young Lawyer's Section and the bar's Committee for Racial Diversity in the Legal Profession.

Thompson also serves on the Indiana CLEO Advisory Board and the Indianapolis Bar Association's Law Student Executive Committee; and is a member of the Marion County and National Bar Associations. She was the 2006 recipient of the Indiana State Bar Association's Rabb Emison Award for her commitment to diversity in the legal profession.

Todd Young

Todd Young

Young was sworn in as a member of Congress on Jan. 5, 2011, and serves on the House Armed Services and Budget committees. He graduated with honors from the United States Naval Academy in 1995 and accepted a commission with the U.S. Marine Corps. He was assigned to lead a Marine recruiting effort in the Chicago and northwest Indiana area, and during this time he earned an MBA from the University of Chicago.

After leaving the military, Young spent a year in England attending the School of Advanced Study in London. After returning to the U.S., he worked at The Heritage Foundation, and later as a legislative assistant in the U.S. Senate. He worked as a management consultant in Indiana for several years before attending law school.

About IU McKinney School of Law

With more than 1,000 students, IU McKinney School of Law is the largest law school in Indiana. Located in downtown Indianapolis, the school has enjoyed great success in preparing students for legal careers for more than 100 years, as evidenced by the presence of alumni in the judiciary and other branches of government, business, civic leadership and law practice. The school's 10,000 graduates live in every state in the nation and several foreign countries.

For more information, contact Elizabeth Allington at 317-278-3038or