Indiana University

Skip to:

  1. Search
  2. Breadcrumb Navigation
  3. Content
  4. Browse by Topic
  5. Services & Resources
  6. Additional Resources
  7. Multimedia News

Media Contacts

Mark Land
Associate vice president, IU Communications

Ryan Piurek
Director, news and media, IU Communications

George Vlahakis
IU Communications

Last modified: Wednesday, September 26, 2012

Committee named for IU Kelley School of Business dean search

Sept. 26, 2012

BLOOMINGTON, Ind. -- A search and screen committee has been formed to identify finalists for the position of dean of the Indiana University Kelley School of Business, Provost and Executive Vice President Lauren Robel has announced.

Kelley School of Business

Kelley School of Business in Bloomington

Print-Quality Photo

The committee will conduct a nationwide search for a successor to Dan Smith, who will become president of the IU Foundation on Oct. 1 after serving as dean of the school since 2005.

Earlier this month, Robel appointed Idalene "Idie" Kesner as interim dean of the Kelley School; she has been associate dean of faculty and research and the Frank P. Popoff Chair of Strategic Management.

Matthew Auer, dean of the Hutton Honors College and a professor in the School of Public and Environmental Affairs, will chair the search committee, which also includes representatives of faculty who teach at Bloomington and Indianapolis, professional staff, students and alumni of the Kelley School.

"I'm delighted that Dean Auer has agreed to chair this search and that such an accomplished and committed group of faculty, staff, students and alumni have agreed to serve on the committee," Robel said. "I am confident that they will secure strong leadership to continue the Kelley School's rich history of excellence and extend its global reach."

Members of the search committee are:


  • Matthew Auer, dean of the Hutton Honors College and a professor in the School of Public and Environmental Affairs

Faculty, Kelley Bloomington

  • Laureen Maines, chair of accounting and the KPMG Professor of Accounting
  • Ray Burke, chair and professor of marketing and the E.W. Kelley Chair of Business Administration
  • Jeffrey Covin, chair of management and entrepreneurship, professor of strategic management and the Samuel and Pauline Glaubinger Professor of Entrepreneurship
  • Sreenivas Kamma, chair and associate professor of finance
  • Martin McCrory, chair of the Undergraduate Honors Program, associate professor of business law and ArcelorMittal USA Undergraduate Faculty Fellow
  • Rebecca Slotegraaf, associate professor of marketing and Whirlpool Faculty Fellow
  • Sue Vargo, co-director of Communication, Professional and Computer Skills

Faculty, Kelley Indianapolis

  • Julie Manning Magid, associate professor of business law
  • Ken Carow, associate dean for Indianapolis research and programs and associate professor of finance.


  • Augustin Ruta, an undergraduate at IU Bloomington majoring in finance and accounting, and chief of staff of the IU Student Association

Professional staff

  • Pam Roberts, executive director of the Full-Time MBA Program and Graduate Career Services
  • Grant Simpson, president of the IU Bloomington Professional Council


  • Nancy Swanson, vice president-corporate of Procter & Gamble, Cincinnati, Ohio

The committee will begin meeting this fall with a goal of selecting finalists by spring. Robel will appoint the dean, whose tenure would likely begin with the 2013-14 academic year.

For over 90 years -- first in Bloomington and later in Indianapolis, online and for top companies -- IU's Kelley School of Business has prepared students to lead organizations, start companies, develop new products and services, and shape business knowledge and policy. Its programs are consistently ranked among the best in the nation, its faculty members are internationally recognized for their teaching and thought leadership, and businesses worldwide hire its highly qualified graduates.