Indiana University

Skip to:

  1. Search
  2. Breadcrumb Navigation
  3. Content
  4. Browse by Topic
  5. Services & Resources
  6. Additional Resources
  7. Multimedia News

Media Contacts

Tracy James
IU Communications

Last modified: Friday, June 14, 2013

Jeanne Madison given IU's highest staff honor, the E. Ross Bartley Award

June 14, 2013

BLOOMINGTON, Ind. -- Indiana University President Michael A. McRobbie on Thursday bestowed the E. Ross Bartley Award to Jeanne Madison, co-director of the 42nd annual Mini University, now thriving in its 15th year under her careful eye.

Jeanne Madison

Indiana University President Michael A. McRobbie congratulates Jeanne Madison as first lady Laurie Burns McRobbie looks on.

Print-Quality Photo

Named after one of late IU Chancellor Herman B Wells' most valued staff members, the Bartley Award is the highest staff award given by the IU president. It is given to a member of the administrative or support staff who demonstrates outstanding leadership skills, service and professional accomplishment at the local, state or national level.

Madison, a biologist, began her career at IU almost 40 years ago in the Department of Biology. In the 1990s, she turned her focus to adult education, managing IU Bloomington's award-winning Lifelong Learning and Mini University programs.

"At Indiana University, lifelong learning is about discovering and exploring new worlds. It is about building a community," McRobbie said before announcing the award. "And no one has done more to foster that sense of community than the woman who has for more than 15 years organized this award-winning and extremely popular program: Jeanne Madison."

Often referred to as Mini U., the model program each year attracts thousands of people from across Indiana and the country to hear lectures from some of IU Bloomington's most compelling instructors, who donate their time.

"Anyone who has ever attended Mini University, or hosted or taught a session, or worked on the staff, can attest to the fact that Jeanne is a consummate professional and that she possesses a strong work ethic and a penchant for attention to detail," McRobbie said.

Madison has worked with Mini U. since 1995 and began directing the program in 1998. She officially retired as a full-time IU employee in 2011, stepping down as director of Lifelong Learning, but she continued her work with Mini U. as co-director.

McRobbie recognized Madison with the Bartley Award during the Mini University Faculty Reception at Bryan House, where event participants had the opportunity to meet and talk with presenters. Her other honors include IU's Staff Merit Award and the Indiana Council for Continuing Education's Professional Staff Member of the Year award.

Mini U. has been included on Frommer's Budget Travel's list of "best learning vacations in the United States" and has received awards from the Council for the Advancement and Support of Education for "best collaborative program" and "best alumni education program."