Indiana University

Skip to:

  1. Search
  2. Breadcrumb Navigation
  3. Content
  4. Browse by Topic
  5. Services & Resources
  6. Additional Resources
  7. Multimedia News

Last modified: Thursday, March 22, 2007

IU honors founders, top faculty and students

March 22, 2007

BLOOMINGTON, Ind. -- In a ceremonial tribute to its founding fathers and colorful history, Indiana University will celebrate Founders Day on Sunday (March 25) at 2 p.m. in Assembly Hall. Fifteen award-winning, university-wide faculty will be recognized and top students will be acknowledged.

IU President Adam W. Herbert will preside over the ceremony with a welcome and remarks. Charlers R. Bantz, executive vice president and chancellor at IUPUI, will announce the Distinguished Teaching Awards, which will be bestowed formally at a luncheon before the ceremony.

Michael A. McRobbie, IU president-elect, provost and vice president for academic affairs at IU Bloomington, will present the IUB honor students, and Elizabeth Haugh Oates, an honor student in the College of Arts and Sciences, will offer remarks on behalf of her student colleagues.

Twelve faculty members and three doctoral students will be recognized for outstanding teaching, research or service to the university. The award recipients teach at IU Bloomington, IUPUI, IU Northwest, IU South Bend and IU Southeast.

Three IU Bloomington professors will be elevated to the rank of Distinguished Professor. They are Douglas R. Hofstadter, College of Arts and Sciences Professor of Cognitive Science, Comparative Literature and Computer Science; Emilio F. Moran, James H. Rudy Professor of Anthropology; and Bernice Pescosolido, Chancellor's Professor of Sociology. All are from the IU College of Arts and Sciences.

Hofstadter is a Pulitzer Prize-winning "Renaissance person" whose first book is described as "a creative bombshell exploding in the scientific and intellectual community." Moran's research looks at how people and the environment interact in complex and sometimes unexpected ways. Pescosolido researches health care services, suicide and the stigma associated with people who have mental illnesses.

Robert J. Mucci, associate professor of sociology and anthropology at IU Northwest, will receive the Herman Frederic Lieber Memorial Award for distinguished teaching. The Frederick Bachman Lieber Memorial Award, which also recognizes outstanding teaching, will go to Paul Pittman, professor of business administration at IU Southeast.

The Frederic Bachman Lieber Award was established in 1954 by Katie D. Bachman in honor of her grandson. The Herman Frederic Lieber Award was originally sponsored by the IU Foundation and is now sponsored by Mrs. Herman Lieber of Indianapolis.

Ahdy W. Helmy, M.D., associate professor of clinical medicine at the IU School of Medicine, will receive the President's Award, established in 1974 to recognize outstanding teaching, research or service on all of IU's campuses.

Marty E. Zusman, professor of sociology at IU Northwest, will be recognized with the Sylvia E. Bowman Award. Bowman, a respected scholar and author, gave 34 years of service to IU as a professor, academic administrator and chancellor for regional campus administration. The Bowman Award, established in 1994, honors exemplary faculty members in discipline areas related to American civilization.

Patricia N. Lewis, adjunct lecturer in mathematics at IU South Bend, will receive the Part-Time Teaching Award.

Three IU Bloomington doctoral students will receive Lieber Memorial Teaching Associate Awards. They are: Judson Everitt and Emily Fairchild, both in sociology; and Zak K. Montgomery in Portuguese. All are students at IU Bloomington.

The W. George Pinnell Award for Outstanding Service will be given to Kenneth J. Schoon, professor of education at IU Northwest; and Kenneth A. Smith, associate professor of English at IU South Bend.

The University Faculty Council established the Pinnell Award in 1988, honoring the memory of the former executive vice president of the university who also served during his career as president of the IU Foundation and dean of IU's Kelley School of Business. Pinnell was known for his stewardship, leadership, initiative and service to the university, the state and the national government. The award recognizes faculty members or librarians who have shown exceptional breadth of involvement and depth of commitment in service to the university, their profession or the public.

Named as the recipient of the John W. Ryan Award for distinguished contributions to international programs is Richard E. Stryker, professor emeritus of political science at IU Bloomington.

The Ryan Award was initiated in 1991 and named for the man who was president of IU from 1971 to 1987. Ryan, now president emeritus, was instrumental in fostering IU's commitment to excellence in international education. The award honors faculty members or librarians who have made exceptional contributions to the university's international programs and studies.

Robert L. Osgood, associate professor of education at IUPUI, will receive the Thomas Ehrlich Award for Service Learning, which is presented annually to an IU professor who has shown particular merit in service learning. The award is named after Thomas Ehrlich, who served as IU's president from 1987 to 1994.

In addition to the introductions of teaching award winners and a procession of Bloomington honor students, the ceremony will include acknowledgement of the following IUB students: Khalil AbuGharbieh, winner of the Herman B Wells Senior Recognition Award; Sarah Cohen, Andrew Lauck, Laura Maul, Samuel Scarpino and Jessica Wild, who all will receive Elvis J. Stahr Distinguished Senior Awards; and Elizabeth A. Adams and Robert M. Koffie, both of whom are recipients of Barry M. Goldwater Scholarships.

For biographies of the faculty award winners, use the following links:

Judson Everitt --
Emily Fairchild --
Ahdy W. Helmy --
Douglas R. Hofstadter --
Patricia N. Lewis --
Zak K. Montgomery --
Emilio F. Moran --
Robert J. Mucci --
Robert L. Osgood --
Bernice Pescosolido --
Paul Pittman --
Kenneth J. Schoon --
Kenneth A. Smith --
Richard E. Stryker --
Marty E. Zusman --