Indiana University

Skip to:

  1. Search
  2. Breadcrumb Navigation
  3. Content
  4. Browse by Topic
  5. Services & Resources
  6. Additional Resources
  7. Multimedia News

Media Contacts

Susan Williams
University Communications

Last modified: Tuesday, March 25, 2008

Top IU faculty honored as part of 2008 Founders Day

March 25, 2008

BLOOMINGTON, Ind. -- Faculty awards for outstanding teaching, research and service to Indiana University will be presented on 2008 Founders Day, Sunday (March 30) at 4:30 p.m. during an invitation-only event for the award recipients and their family and friends, in Alumni Hall, Indiana Memorial Union. IU President Michael A. McRobbie will preside over the program and will offer a welcome and remarks. Music will be provided by the IU String Quartet from the Jacobs School of Music.

Twenty-one faculty members and one doctoral student will be recognized for outstanding teaching, research and service to the university. The award recipients teach at IU Bloomington, IUPUI, IU Kokomo, IU Northwest and IU South Bend.

Five IU professors will be elevated to the rank of Distinguished Professor. From Indiana University-Purdue University, Peter Roach, professor of biology at the IU School of Medicine, will receive the rank of Distinguished Professor. From the School of Public and Environmental Affairs at IU Bloomington, David Audretsch, the Ameritech Chair of Economic Development in the School of Public and Environmental Affairs will be elevated to Distinguished Professor. Also from IU Bloomington and the College of Arts and Sciences, Michael Wade from the Department of Biology; Linda Smith, Chancellor's Professor and professor of psychological and brain sciences and of cognitive science; and James Townsend, Rudy Professor of Psychological and Brain Sciences, will receive distinguished rank.

The Lieber Memorial Awards for distinguished teaching will go to faculty on the IUPUI campus. Richard Gunderman, associate professor of radiology, pediatrics, medical education, philosophy, liberal arts, and philanthropy, from the IU School of Medicine, will receive the Herman Frederic Lieber Memorial Award. The Frederick Bachman Lieber Memorial Award will go to Christine Leland, professor of language education, from the School of Education.

The Frederic Bachman Lieber Award was established in 1954 by Katie D. Bachman in honor of her grandson. The Herman Frederic Lieber Award was originally sponsored by the IU Foundation and is now sponsored by Mrs. Herman Lieber of Indianapolis.

Four IU professors will receive the President's Award, which was established in 1974 to recognize outstanding teaching, research or service on all of IU's campuses. They are Neovi Karakatsanis, associate professor of political science, from the Department of Political Science at IU South Bend; Cynthia O'Dell, associate professor of psychology, from the Department of Psychology at IU Northwest; and from the IU Bloomington campus, Sara Pryor, professor of atmospheric science, from the Department of Geography, and Helga Winold, professor of music, from the Jacobs School of Music.

Stephanie Shanks-Meile, professor of sociology, from the Department of Sociology and Anthropology at IU Northwest, will be recognized with the Sylvia E. Bowman Award. Bowman, a respected scholar and author, gave 34 years of service to IU as a professor, academic administrator and chancellor for regional campus administration. The Bowman Award, established in 1994, honors exemplary faculty members in discipline areas related to American civilization.

One IU Bloomington doctoral student will receive Lieber Memorial Teaching Associate Award. He is David Blouin in the Department of Sociology in the IU Bloomington College of Arts and Sciences.

The W. George Pinnell Award for Outstanding Service will be given to five IU faculty. From the IU South Bend campus, Eileen T. Bender, professor of English, from the Department of English, and Rebecca L. Torstrick, associate professor of anthropology, from the Department of Anthropology, will receive the award. Vernon G. Smith, associate professor of education, from the School of Education at IU Northwest; Margo Sorgman, professor of social studies education, from the School of Education at IU Kokomo; and Jean Robinson, professor of political science and professor of East Asian languages and cultures, from the Departments of Political Science and East Asian Languages and Cultures at IU Bloomington, also will receive Pinnell Awards.

The University Faculty Council established the Pinnell Award in 1988, honoring the memory of the former executive vice president of the university who also served during his career as president of the IU Foundation and dean of IU's Kelley School of Business. Pinnell was known for his stewardship, leadership, initiative and service to the university, the state and the national government. The award recognizes faculty members or librarians who have shown exceptional breadth of involvement and depth of commitment in service to the university, their profession or the public.

Randall Baker, professor of public and environmental affairs from the School of Public and Environmental Affairs at IU Bloomington, and H. Öner Yurtseven, dean of the School of Engineering and Technology at IUPUI and professor of electrical engineering, have been named recipients of the John W. Ryan Award for distinguished contributions to international programs.

The Ryan Award was initiated in 1991 and named for the man who was president of IU from 1971 to 1987. Ryan, now president emeritus, was instrumental in fostering IU's commitment to excellence in international education. The award honors faculty members or librarians who have made exceptional contributions to the university's international programs and studies.

Earl R.C. Singleton, clinical professor of law, from the IU School of Law-Bloomington, and Karen Yoder, associate professor of preventive and community dentistry, from the IU School of Dentistry at IUPUI, will receive the Thomas Ehrlich Award for Service Learning. This award is presented annually to an IU professor who has shown particular merit in service learning. The award is named after Thomas Ehrlich, who served as IU's president from 1987 to 1994.

For biographies of the faculty award winners, use the following links:

David B. Audretsch:
Randall Baker:
Eileen T. Bender:
David D. Blouin:
Richard B. Gunderman:
Neovi Karakatsanis:
Christine H. Leland:
Cynthia O'Dell:
Sara C. Pryor:
Peter J. Roach:
Jean Robinson:
Stephanie Shanks-Meile:
Earl R. C. Singleton:
Linda B. Smith:
Vernon G. Smith:
Margo Sorgman:
Rebecca L. Torstrick:
James Townsend:
Michael J. Wade:
Helga Winold:
Karen M. Yoder:
H. Öner Yurtseven:

IU Founders Day was divided into two seperate events this year, with one to recognize top teaching, research and service achievement. IU Bloomington's most academically outstanding students also will be recognized at a 1 p.m. honors convocation in Assembly Hall. For more information on this event, go to: