Indiana University

Skip to:

  1. Search
  2. Breadcrumb Navigation
  3. Content
  4. Browse by Topic
  5. Services & Resources
  6. Additional Resources
  7. Multimedia News

Media Contacts

Paul Fogleman
Office of the Vice President for International Affairs

Last modified: Monday, August 11, 2008

IU students receive 33 Fulbright grants this year

Aug. 11, 2008

BLOOMINGTON, Ind. -- Indiana University President Michael A. McRobbie announced today (Aug. 11) that 33 Indiana University students have been awarded 2008-2009 Fulbright grants -- a 65 percent increase over last year.

"These awards are a testament to the quality of our students and Indiana University's commitment to excellence in education and research," said IU President Michael A. McRobbie. "The Fulbright program is extremely competitive, and we are exceedingly proud of our students who have worked so hard to earn the opportunity to continue their studies abroad."

Of the 33 students, all from IU Bloomington, 11 received prestigious Fulbright-Hays grants and 22 received Fulbright U.S. Student Program grants (seven of the 22 declined the grant). The students will travel to countries spanning the globe and will spend 10 to 12 months conducting research projects or enhancing their artistic skills. Students can qualify for one of two Fulbright-sponsored research programs. Graduating seniors and graduate students may apply for Fulbright grants sponsored by the Department of State, and advanced doctoral students may apply for doctoral dissertation research Fulbright-Hays grants, administered by the Department of Education.

"The remarkable number of awards to IU Bloomington students is an indicator of how wonderful our students are and just how globally engaged the campus is," said Karen Hanson, IU Bloomington provost and executive vice president. "Our students understand how much they can learn by extending their studies, their research and creative activities all around the world. We're proud of these students' success in obtaining these prestigious awards and are excited by the opportunities these awards make possible."

According to Patrick O'Meara, IU's vice president for international affairs, "A Fulbright grant is an exceptional opportunity for a student to gain invaluable experience abroad. I am delighted with the success and achievements of our students, and I look forward to ensuring that next year's applicants perform equally well."

IU's Fulbright U.S. Student Program grant recipients include students from a variety of disciplines, including the arts, music, creative writing, education and the sciences. They will carry out the projects they have prepared with guidance from their professors and in conjunction with partner institutions in countries around the world.

Nationwide, more than 6,000 students apply annually for approximately 1,500 awards. The Fulbright U.S. Student Program for Graduate Study or Research Abroad is the best-known source of overseas study grants in the nation. It provides support for bachelor's degree recipients and graduate students to study abroad, conduct research, teach English, or obtain professional training in the creative and performing arts. These Fulbright grants are administered by the Institute of International Education (IIE) and sponsored by the Department of State.

This year's research projects include:

  • Archival research on ancient texts in Taipei
  • Epidemiological studies on childhood obesity in Greece
  • Training with renowned musicians in Belgium and France
  • Creating and exhibiting a photo essay in Germany
  • Investigating how informational tools can play a role in linking urban farming practices to community development in Australia
  • Introducing a new method of teaching students about public health issues in South Korea

Fulbright-Hays grantees exhibit a high level of proficiency in the language of their research, an in-depth familiarity with the country's history and culture, and a solid disciplinary and theoretical knowledge. The Fulbright-Hays program typically receives more than 500 applications for approximately 160 annual grants to U.S. citizens and permanent residents to travel abroad. IU's 11 recipients of the Fulbright-Hays grants for the 2008-2009 academic year will pursue six to 12 months of research abroad. The average award amount for this year's recipients is $41,000.

The Fulbright-Hays grants for Doctoral Dissertation Research Abroad, administered by the U.S. Department of Education's International Education Programs Service, are among the most competitive graduate research grants in the nation. They were established to provide support specifically for dissertation research in modern foreign languages and area studies in non-Western European countries. Applicants must intend a future teaching career at an institution in the United States.

This year's grantees are headed to Central America, Africa, Eastern Europe and Asia. Their research topics include:

  • Religious and political identity in Mexico and Romania
  • Perceptions of environmental risk in Tajikistan
  • Art and architecture in Mali
  • Education policy in India and Azerbaijan

The deadline to apply for the 2009-2010 academic year is Sept. 15 for Fulbright U.S. Student Program grants and Oct. 15 for the Fulbright-Hays grants. Students interested in pursuing a Fulbright grant should contact the Fulbright Program Adviser for the IU Bloomington campus, Paul Fogleman at

The IU students who were awarded grants include:

Fulbright U.S. Student Awards
Mark Bonadio, Islamic studies, destination is Morocco
Paul Davis, art and architectural history, destination is Mali (declined)
Evelyn Dean, anthropology, destination is Mexico (declined)
Andrew Estel, music composition, destination is Italy (declined)
Alexandra Gorlin-Crenshaw, musical instrument training - piano, destination is France
Jennifer Hart, modern history, destination is Ghana (declined)
Christina Harvey, creative writing, destination is Germany
Anna Kostrzewsky, teaching English as a foreign language, destination is South Korea
Lanlan Kuang, ethnomusicology, destination is China
Kate Lemay, art and architectural history, destination is France
Rebekah Moore, ethnomusicology, destination is Indonesia
William Odom, informatics, destination is Australia
Christine Parker, teaching English as a foreign language, destination is Argentina
Matthew Peterson, music composition, destination is Sweden
Jonathan Pettit, theology and religion, destination is Taiwan
Maria Roditis, anthropology, destination is Greece
Wendell Schwab, anthropology, destination is Kazakhstan (declined)
Angela Stone-MacDonald, education, destination is Tanzania
Jordan Tate, photography, destination is Germany
Michael Thorne, modern history, destination is Romania (declined)
Anne Timberlake, music instrument training - recorder, destination is Belgium (declined)
Juan Wolf, ethnomusicology, destination is Chile

Fulbright-Hays Awards
Kevin Coleman, modern history, destination is Honduras
Paul Davis, art and architectural history, destination is Mali
Evelyn Dean, anthropology, destination is Mexico
Aimee Dobbs, cultural and intellectual history, destination is Azerbaijan
Jennifer Hart, modern history, destination is Ghana
Christina Heisser, modern history, destination is Mexico
Zohra Ismail, anthropology, destination is Tajikistan
Wendell Schwab, anthropology, destination is Kazakhstan
Payal Shah, education, destination is India
Michael Thorne, modern history, destination is Romania
Heidi Bludau, anthropology, destination is Czech Republic