Indiana University

Skip to:

  1. Search
  2. Breadcrumb Navigation
  3. Content
  4. Browse by Topic
  5. Services & Resources
  6. Additional Resources
  7. Multimedia News

Media Contacts

Susan Williams
University Communications

Last modified: Monday, March 23, 2009

IU to celebrate distinguished teaching with faculty awards

March 23, 2009

BLOOMINGTON, Ind. -- Indiana University will honor distinguished teaching of its faculty as part of a celebration to mark its founding 189 years ago on Jan. 20, 1820. IU President Michael McRobbie will preside over the Founders Day teaching awards presentation, scheduled for Friday (March 27) at 5:30 p.m. in the Indiana Memorial Union's Alumni Hall. The Indiana University String Quartet will provide a musical prelude.

Founders Day

Sixteen faculty members and three doctoral students will be recognized for outstanding teaching, research and service to the university. The award recipients teach at IU Bloomington, IUPUI, IU East and IU South Bend.

Five IU professors will be elevated to the rank of Distinguished Professor. From Indiana University-Purdue University Indianapolis, Douglas K. Rex, Chancellor's Professor of Medicine in the Division of Gastroenterology and Hepatology in the School of Medicine, will be elevated to Distinguished Professor. From the School of Public and Environmental Affairs at IU Bloomington, James L. Perry, Chancellor's Professor of Public and Environmental Affairs, will receive the rank of Distinguished Professor. From the College of Arts and Sciences at IU Bloomington, Steven A. Gottlieb, professor of physics; William Newman, Ruth N. Halls Professor of History and Philosophy of Science; and Pravin Trivedi, J.H. Rudy Professor of Economics, all will receive distinguished rank.

The Lieber Memorial Awards for distinguished teaching will go to faculty on the IU East and IU Bloomington campuses. Carol Hostetter, associate professor in the School of Social Work in Bloomington, will receive the Herman Frederic Lieber Memorial Award. The Frederick Bachman Lieber Memorial Award will go to Edwina L. Helton, professor of English in the School of Humanities and Social Sciences at the Richmond campus.

The Frederic Bachman Lieber Award was established in 1954 by Katie D. Bachman in honor of her grandson. The Herman Frederic Lieber Award was originally sponsored by the IU Foundation and is now sponsored by Mrs. Herman Lieber of Indianapolis.

The President's Award, which was established in 1974 to recognize outstanding teaching, research or service will go to Pankaj Saksena, assistant dean and director of Graduate Studies in the School of Business and Economics at IU South Bend.

Part-time Teaching Awards will go to three professors. At IU South Bend, Linda Young, associate faculty with merit in the School of Education, will receive the award. At IUPUI, two will receive the award. They are Gary P. Miller, associate faculty in the School of Social Work, and Janet M. Phillips, in the School of Nursing.

Three IU Bloomington doctoral students in the College of Arts and Sciences will receive Lieber Memorial Teaching Associate Award. They are Rogelia Lily Ibarra from the Department of Spanish and Portuguese; Erin McNulty, also from the Department of Spanish and Portuguese; and Shelley L. Nelson from the Department of Sociology.

The W. George Pinnell Award for Outstanding Service will be given to two IU faculty. From the IU South Bend campus, Elizabeth A. Bennion, associate professor of political science in the Department of Political Science, will receive the award. Also receiving the Pinnell Award will be William H. Wheeler, associate professor of mathematics in the College of Arts and Sciences' Department of Mathematics at IU Bloomington.

The University Faculty Council established the Pinnell Award in 1988, honoring the memory of the former executive vice president of the university who also served during his career as president of the IU Foundation and dean of IU's Kelley School of Business. Pinnell was known for his stewardship, leadership, initiative and service to the university, the state and the national government. The award recognizes faculty members or librarians who have shown exceptional breadth of involvement and depth of commitment in service to the university, their profession or the public.

Two professors will receive the John W. Ryan Award for distinguished contributions to international programs. They are Daniel Knudsen, professor of geography, director of the International Studies Major Program and director of the Landscape Studies Ph.D. Minor Program at IU Bloomington; and William M. Plater, Chancellor's Professor of Public Administration, Philanthropic Studies, English and Informatics at IUPUI.

The Ryan Award was initiated in 1991 and named for the man who was president of IU from 1971 to 1987. Ryan, now president emeritus, was instrumental in fostering IU's commitment to excellence in international education. The award honors faculty members or librarians who have made exceptional contributions to the university's international programs and studies.

Lisa E. McGuire, associate professor of social work in the School of Social Work at IUPUI, will receive the Thomas Ehrlich Award for Service Learning. This award is presented annually to an IU professor who has shown particular merit in service learning. The award is named after Thomas Ehrlich, who served as IU's president from 1987 to 1994.

For biographies of the faculty award winners, use the following links:

Elizabeth A. Bennion --
Steven A. Gottlieb --
Edwina L. Helton --
Carol Hostetter --
Rogelia Lily Ibarra --
Daniel Knudsen --
Lisa E. McGuire --
Erin McNulty --
Gary P. Miller --
Shelley L. Nelson --
William R. Newman --
James L. Perry --
Janet M. Phillips --
William M. Plater --
Douglas K. Rex --
Pankaj Saksena --
Pravin K. Trivedi --
William H. Wheeler --
Linda Young --