Indiana University

Skip to:

  1. Search
  2. Breadcrumb Navigation
  3. Content
  4. Browse by Topic
  5. Services & Resources
  6. Additional Resources
  7. Multimedia News

Media Contacts

Jane Jankowski
IU Media Relations

Last modified: Monday, June 30, 2003

Alumni voters re-elect Cora Smith Breckenridge as IU trustee

Cora Smith Breckenridge of Elkhart, Ind., was elected today (June 30) by Indiana University alumni to her third three-year term as an IU trustee. She received 16,368 of the 30,752 votes cast.

The other candidate in the race, Robert B. Cummins of Naperville, Ill., finished with 14,303 votes.

Breckenridge first was elected to the board in 1997. She earned her undergraduate degree from IU in 1959 and her master's degree in 1963. She is a retired speech/language pathologist for the Elkhart Community Schools. Among other activities, she was elected as a member of the national board of directors of the National Association for the Advancement of Colored People (NAACP) in 2000 and is the membership chairperson.

Of the total votes cast, 81 ballots were declared void.

Indiana University has nine trustees. Three are elected by the alumni, and all must have earned degrees from IU. Every degree-holder from the university is provided with an opportunity to vote in the elections.

The other two alumni trustees are Sue H. Talbot, who was elected in 2001, and Jamie Belanger, who was elected in 2002. Remaining members of the board are appointed by the governor.