Indiana University

Skip to:

  1. Search
  2. Breadcrumb Navigation
  3. Content
  4. Browse by Topic
  5. Services & Resources
  6. Additional Resources
  7. Multimedia News

Media Contacts

George Vlahakis
IU Media Relations

Last modified: Thursday, August 21, 2003

Indiana University selects 21 top students as Wells Scholars

EDITORS: Publication-quality photos of the Wells Scholars are available online at Separate news releases have also been prepared for each Wells Scholar. Contact George Vlahakis at 812-855-0846 or if you need individual information about someone from your circulation area.

BLOOMINGTON, Ind. -- Indiana University has selected 18 entering freshmen and three current IU students as Wells Scholars for the upcoming academic year. The scholarship, named in honor of the late IU Chancellor Herman B Wells, ranks among the most competitive and prestigious awards offered by any American university.

Wells Scholars who are incoming freshmen receive full tuition and fees, as well as a living stipend for four years of study on the IU Bloomington campus. Those who are already at IU receive tuition, fees and a stipend for the balance of their education at the university.

The scholarship is named in honor of Wells (1902-2000), who devoted his extraordinary life to IU. Wells came to IU as an undergraduate, returned as a faculty member and then served as a dean before becoming president of the university for a quarter century. He remained the university's chancellor until his death.

The new incoming freshmen Wells Scholars are:

-- Khalil AbuGharbieh, Granger, Ind.
-- Aaron Cantrell, Indianapolis
-- M. Brandon DeLeeuw, Louisville, Ky.
-- Caitlin Dugdale, Indianapolis
-- Isabel Estevez, Louisville, Ky.
-- Justin Farlow, Indianapolis
-- Ryan Funk, Indianapolis
-- Matthew Gichohi, South Bend, Ind.
-- Mark Johnson, Charlotte, N.C.
-- Nicole Kapolas, Des Plaines, Ill.
-- Laura Emmy Malament, Indianapolis
-- Lawrence Joseph Mazur II, LaPorte, Ind.
-- Zachariah Overley, Zionsville, Ind.
-- Camille Rice, Indianapolis
-- David Rooda, Hobart, Ind.
-- Daniel Stanko, Crown Point, Ind.
-- Morgan Tilleman, Valparaiso, Ind.
-- Laura Wallace, Wyoming, Ohio

The new Wells Scholars who are currently IU students are:

-- Aaron Remenschneider, a senior from Indianapolis
-- Nola Marie Stephens, a junior from Pottsboro, Texas
-- Everett Stuckey Jr., a junior from St. Louis

The program also offers special seminars, an optional year of study abroad and support for a summer research project or internship. The Wells Scholars Program emphasizes close interaction with faculty, academic and career advising, opportunities for community service and contact with distinguished visitors.

Examples of past summer experiences include serving with Outreach Kenya Development Volunteers to provide AIDS education and build a public library in western Kenya, conducting research at the National Institutes of Health, performing in the Boulder Jazz Dance Workshop and interning at the U.S. Senate and House of Representatives, the Canadian Parliament and the U.S. Supreme Court.

Wells Scholars are also members of the Honors College, where they have the opportunity to apply for grants in support of research, teaching internships, professional experience, creative activity, conference travel and honors thesis work.

They are selected for having demonstrated character, leadership and distinction, both inside and outside of the classroom.