Indiana University

Skip to:

  1. Search
  2. Breadcrumb Navigation
  3. Content
  4. Browse by Topic
  5. Services & Resources
  6. Additional Resources
  7. Multimedia News

Media Contacts

Garry D. Howard
Associated Press Sports Editors

Beth Moellers
IU School of Journalism

Tim Franklin
National Sports Journalism Center

Last modified: Thursday, May 14, 2009

Associated Press Sports Editors establishing headquarters at IUís National Sports Journalism Center

May 14, 2009

INDIANAPOLIS -- The Associated Press Sports Editors, the nation's largest professional sports journalism organization, is establishing its headquarters at Indiana University's new National Sports Journalism Center.

Garry Howard

Garry Howard

The School of Journalism at the Indiana University-Purdue University Indianapolis (IUPUI) campus will be the first official home for APSE, which was founded 35 years ago and now includes more than 550 members, including virtually all of the top print and online sports news executives in America.

As part of this affiliation, IU and APSE will erect a Hall of Fame in the new Student Media Center on the IUPUI campus that will honor the winners of the prestigious "Red Smith Award" for lifetime achievement in sports journalism. APSE initiated the award in 1981, and it is widely regarded as the top honor in sports journalism today.

Past winners include legendary sports media figures such as Red Smith, Dick Schaap, Bud Collins, Jim Murray, Dave Kindred and many others. The exhibit also will include a tribute to APSE presidents.

In addition to bestowing the Red Smith Award, APSE also sponsors coveted journalism awards that honor the best sports writing and sports sections in America. The IU School of Journalism will assist APSE in the administration of its national contest. The sports editors' organization and IU also will partner on training seminars for professional sports journalists.

APSE hosts two annual conventions, meets regularly with the commissioners of the major professional sports leagues and advocates for the rights of sports media.

"This alliance between the Indiana University School of Journalism and the Associated Press Sports Editors was formed with the future of both organizations in mind," said Garry D. Howard, the incoming president of APSE and the assistant managing editor of sports at the Milwaukee Journal Sentinel. "IU has made us an offer that will bridge the gap between APSE and college sports journalists not only at IU, but at all colleges and universities in the country. And for that, both of us will benefit greatly.

"In addition, the proposed APSE Hall of Fame will be a meeting place where college students and visitors will, hopefully, be inspired to reach for the stars in this most exhilarating industry," Howard added.

IUPUI Chancellor Charles R. Bantz said that APSE's presence is a good fit for the campus and the city.

"Housing the Associated Press Sports Editors at IUPUI is a natural alliance given the campus' long involvement in supporting the sports movement in Indianapolis and IUPUI's growing academic strengths in sports-related areas," Bantz said. "Along with journalism, IUPUI has faculty with expertise in sports law, management, medicine, culture and economics."

Brad J. Hamm, the dean of the IU School of Journalism, said there are several key factors behind APSE's decision to affiliate with IU. The School of Journalism at IUPUI has state-of-the-art facilities and is located near the headquarters of many of the nation's top sports organizations, including the NCAA, the National Federation of State High School Associations, the National Institute for Fitness and Sport, USA Gymnastics, USA Track & Field, U.S. Diving, the Black Coaches Association and the Indy Racing League, among others.

In addition, Hamm said that Indianapolis' central location in the U.S. and its new international airport will make it convenient for future APSE activities. And, he said, the partnership will allow APSE to tap into the resources and expertise of one of America's oldest and most respected journalism schools.

"APSE is an ideal match with our new National Sports Journalism Center and we look forward to a long, beneficial partnership," Hamm said. "I believe that together we can teach and support the very best in sports journalism across all levels, from high school students to veteran professionals."

Tim A. Franklin, director of the sports journalism center and the Louis A. Weil Jr. Endowed Chair in the School of Journalism, said the partnership represents a win for both organizations.

"This collaboration will build a strong tie between students and leaders in the dynamic sports media industry," Franklin said. "This will help the center prepare sports journalists of the future. At the same time, IU can provide resources to strengthen APSE and train current professionals. It all adds up to a package that is about improving sports journalism in America, which is at the core of the mission of the sports journalism center and APSE."

IU launched the National Sports Journalism Center earlier this year after it hired Franklin, an IU alumnus and then editor of The Baltimore Sun. Franklin, who also has been sports editor of the Chicago Tribune, is leading a program that aims to become the premier sports media institute in America.

The center will begin offering sports journalism courses on the IUPUI and Bloomington campuses this fall. It has begun a speaker series that will include top sports figures in America discussing major trends and issues in sports media. The center will launch a Web site in late summer. It is working to establish internships for students. The center expects to offer a full sequence of sports media courses on the IUPUI and Bloomington campuses in the fall of 2010.

APSE's move is the latest in a string of major announcements from the School of Journalism.

In recent months, the journalism school has hired to its faculty Tom French, the Pulitzer Prize-winning feature writer from the St. Petersburg Times, as the Riley Endowed Chair in Journalism; Joe Coleman, the Tokyo bureau chief for the AP, as the Roy W. Howard Professional in Residence; and Franklin, who has been the top editor of metro newspapers in Baltimore, Orlando and Indianapolis and a senior editor at the Chicago Tribune, as the Louis A. Weil Jr. Endowed Chair. Franklin also serves on the board of the American Society of News Editors. He's the first ASNE board member elected from an academic institution.