Indiana University

Skip to:

  1. Search
  2. Breadcrumb Navigation
  3. Content
  4. Browse by Topic
  5. Services & Resources
  6. Additional Resources
  7. Multimedia News

Media Contacts

Conor McIntyre
IU Alumni Association

Last modified: Monday, May 18, 2009

Indiana University honors students with senior awards and scholarships

May 18, 2009

BLOOMINGTON, Ind. -- Five Indiana University students were honored for academic excellence and outstanding leadership with Elvis J. Stahr Distinguished Senior Awards at this year's annual Spring Recognition Banquet held at the Virgil T. DeVault Alumni Center on the IU Bloomington campus in April.

2009 Stahr Award Winners

From left: Elvis J. Stahr Distinguished Senior Award recipients Arthur Daniel "A.D." King, Neil Shah, Michelle Sarin, Donald Morgan and William Bennett Jr.

Print-Quality Photo

This year's Stahr Awards were presented to:

  • William Bennett Jr., of Indianapolis, an economic consulting and public policy analysis major;
  • Arthur "A.D." King, of Columbus, Ind., a finance major;
  • Donald Morgan, of Washington, Ind., a history major;
  • Michelle Sarin, of Carmel, Ind., a biology and English major; and
  • Neil Shah, of Fort Wayne, Ind., a finance major.

The Elvis J. Stahr Distinguished Senior Award was established in 1966 by Stahr, IU's 12th president. The annual award honors three to five seniors who have excelled academically while serving as active student leaders. The names of the recipients are added to a permanent plaque that hangs in the Indiana Memorial Union.

Also at the banquet, Lindsey K. Livingston, of Washington, D.C., a finance and economic consulting major with a minor in English, received the Jerry F. Tardy Memorial Scholarship.

The Tardy Scholarship is awarded annually to the president of the Student Alumni Association at IU Bloomington. This $2,500 scholarship honors the memory of Jerry F. Tardy, who served as president and CEO of the IU Alumni Association from 1987 until his death in 2001 and was a champion of student programs. The first Jerry F. Tardy Memorial Scholarship was presented in 2002.

Two students were awarded Claude T. Rich Scholarships:

  • Amanda Stahl, of Milwaukee, a criminal justice major; and
  • Fahim Faalzada, of Bloomington, Ind., a business major.

Rich Scholarships are awarded annually to student leaders in recognition of their service to the IU Alumni Association and IU. The $1,000 scholarships honor the memory of Claude Rich, who enjoyed a 44-year career as an administrator at IU. His career included founding the Varsity Club, expansion of the Alumni Association, and directing the IU Sesquicentennial celebration in 1968.

Karen Hanson, IU Bloomington provost and executive vice president, presented the Stahr Awards. Patricia Surfus, IU Alumni Association associate director of student programs, presented the Tardy Scholarship; and Conor McIntyre, IUAA director of student programs, presented the Rich Scholarships.

The Spring Recognition Banquet is sponsored by the Student Alumni Association at IU Bloomington and the IU Bloomington Office of the Provost and Executive Vice President.

The IU Alumni Association is dedicated to serving the university and its diverse alumni, students and friends. As one of the nation's largest alumni organizations, serving approximately 520,000 graduates worldwide, the IUAA provides many programs and services to its members, nonmember alumni and the university. For more information, visit or call 800-824-3044. For more information on the Student Alumni Association, visit