Indiana University

Skip to:

  1. Search
  2. Breadcrumb Navigation
  3. Content
  4. Browse by Topic
  5. Services & Resources
  6. Additional Resources
  7. Multimedia News

Media Contacts

David Bricker
IU Media Relations

Last modified: Monday, October 27, 2003

AAAS taps five new fellows among Indiana University faculty

Five Indiana University Bloomington scientists have been elected fellows of the American Association for the Advancement of Science. Fellowship in the association is considered a high honor among both American and foreign scientists.

This year's class of 348 fellows were selected because they engaged in activities that were "deemed scientifically or socially distinguished" by the decision-making AAAS Council, according to the association's news release distributed this week. Names of the winners and brief summaries of their accomplishments will be published in the Oct. 31 issue of Science. New fellows will also be honored at the AAAS annual meeting in Seattle next year.

The IU electees are:

  • Anthropologists Kathy Schick and Nicholas Toth, for their studies of human origins, early tool use by hominids, and the fossilization and preservation of human remains and artifacts. Schick and Toth are wife and husband, and co-directors of the Center for Research into the Anthropological Foundations of Technology
  • Biologist Mark Estelle, for his distinguished contributions to the field of plant developmental biology and, in particular, the improvement of scientists' understanding of the action of auxin, a hormone, in the model species Arabidopsis thaliana
  • Biologist Loren Rieseberg, for his evolutionary and hybridization studies of sunflowers, as well as his work with other species. Rieseberg was also recognized earlier this month by the John D. and Catherine T. MacArthur Foundation, which named him a 2003 MacArthur Fellow
  • Psychologist William Timberlake, for uniting laboratory learning with an observational, ecological analysis of animal behavior. Timberlake is the co-founder of the IU Center for the Integrative Study of Animal Behavior

Only 10 research institutions had more AAAS fellows this year than IU -- Yale University; Harvard University; Duke University; Johns Hopkins University; the University of Chicago; the University of California, Berkeley; the University of California, Riverside; the University of Michigan-Ann Arbor; the University of Wisconsin-Madison; and Ohio State University.

To speak with any of the scientists mentioned, contact David Bricker at 812-856-9035 or