Indiana University

Skip to:

  1. Search
  2. Breadcrumb Navigation
  3. Content
  4. Browse by Topic
  5. Services & Resources
  6. Additional Resources
  7. Multimedia News

Media Contacts

Larry MacIntyre
University Communications

Last modified: Friday, August 14, 2009

Cast elected to head IU Board of Trustees

Aug. 14, 2009

INDIANAPOLIS -- William R. Cast, M.D., has been elected to a two-year term as president of the Indiana University Board of Trustees. Cast, a Fort Wayne physician and surgeon, succeeds Stephen L. Ferguson, who steps down after serving two consecutive two-year terms as president.

The board elected officers for 2009-11 during its business meeting today (Aug. 14) at the Indiana University-Purdue University Indianapolis Campus Center. It elected Trustee Patrick A. Shoulders vice president, Robin Roy Gress secretary, Dorothy Frapwell assistant secretary, MaryFrances McCourt treasurer and Stewart T. Cobine assistant treasurer.

The slate of officers was selected last month by the board's nominating committee.

"I am honored to become chair of the Board of Trustees during these severe economic times," Cast said. "I look forward to working with President McRobbie and the board. While Indiana University faces significant challenges, I'm confident that it will continue to prove its value to the state as only a highly-ranked research university can do."

Cast is CEO of NoMoreClipboard, an online, patient-controlled personal health record management system. Cast received his M.D. degree from Indiana University and practices with ENT Specialists in Fort Wayne. He was founding chairman of DuPont Hospital in Fort Wayne and was also founding president of Canterbury School, a pre-kindergarten through 12th grade school in Fort Wayne.

Indiana Gov. Mitch Daniels appointed Cast to the Board of Trustees in July 2005 and reappointed him to a second three-year term in July 2008.

Shoulders, an attorney with the firm of Ziemer, Stayman, Weitzel & Shoulders, has served on the Board of Trustees since 2001. He was elected to three-year terms by IU alumni in 2005 and 2008. He has undergraduate and law degrees from IU.

Ferguson, chairman and executive vice president of Cook Group Inc. in Bloomington, has served as a member of the board since 1998 and its president since August 2005. Bylaws limit members to serving two consecutive two-year terms as president.

The Board of Trustees is the governing board, legal owner and final authority of Indiana University, holding the university's financial, physical and human assets and operations in trust for future generations. Its membership, terms of office, responsibilities, powers and electoral procedures are governed by state law. For more information, see