Indiana University

Skip to:

  1. Search
  2. Breadcrumb Navigation
  3. Content
  4. Browse by Topic
  5. Services & Resources
  6. Additional Resources
  7. Multimedia News

Media Contacts

Susan Williams
University Communications

Last modified: Wednesday, February 17, 2010

IU names 2010 Distinguished Teaching Award recipients

Distinguished Teaching Awards "honor our most exceptional faculty, their devotion to their students and their strong commitment to our fundamental missions of excellence in education and research."

Feb. 17, 2010

BLOOMINGTON, Ind. -- "Students are the life blood of a great university," said Herman B Wells, who presided as president of Indiana University on Founders Day in 1961. "But to pump and move the blood, a great university must have great teachers."

Wells' observation still rings true.

As the university marks its founding 190 years ago this spring, President Michael A. McRobbie will present IU's Distinguished Teaching Awards in honor of Founders Day at a dinner on April 16. Sixteen faculty members and two doctoral students will be recognized for outstanding teaching, research and service to the university. The award recipients teach at IU Bloomington, Indiana University-Purdue University Indianapolis, Indiana University Kokomo, Indiana University Northwest and Indiana University South Bend.

"The passion and dedication that Indiana University faculty members bring to the classroom every day is truly remarkable," said IU President Michael A. McRobbie. "They ensure that our graduates are prepared for success in the world outside of the classroom. These awards honor our most exceptional faculty, their devotion to their students and their strong commitment to our fundamental missions of excellence in education and research."

Five IU professors will be elevated to the rank of Distinguished Professor. From the IU Bloomington College of Arts and Sciences, Elinor Ostrom, the winner of the 2009 Nobel Prize in Economic Sciences and the Arthur F. Bentley Professor of Political Science; J. Scott Long, Chancellor's Professor of Sociology and Statistics; and Larry E. Humes, professor of speech and hearing sciences, all will receive the rank of Distinguished Professor. From the IU School of Medicine at IUPUI, Howard J. Edenberg, Chancellor's Professor of Biochemistry and Molecular Biology and of Medical and Molecular Genetics, and Dean Maglinte, professor of radiology, will be elevated to Distinguished Professor.

The Lieber Memorial Awards for distinguished teaching will go to faculty on the IU South Bend and IU Bloomington campuses. Beth Kern, professor of accounting in the School of Business and Economics, will receive the Herman Frederic Lieber Memorial Award at IU South Bend. The Frederick Bachman Lieber Memorial Award will go to Dale Sengelaub, professor of psychological and brain sciences, at IU Bloomington in the College of Arts and Sciences.

The Frederic Bachman Lieber Award was established in 1954 by Katie D. Bachman in honor of her grandson. The Herman Frederic Lieber Award was originally sponsored by the IU Foundation and is now sponsored by Mrs. Herman Lieber of Indianapolis.

The President's Award, which was established in 1974 to recognize outstanding teaching, research or service, will go to two IU faculty. Ann Grens, associate professor of molecular and developmental biology at IU South Bend in the College of Liberal Arts and Sciences, will receive the award. At IU Bloomington, the award will be given posthumously to Beth Wood, senior lecturer in the School of Journalism.

At IUPUI, Jennifer Drobac, professor of law and director of the Central and Eastern European Law Summer Program in the IU School of Law-Indianapolis, will receive the Sylvia E. Bowman Award.

Established in 1994, the Sylvia E. Bowman Award honors exemplary faculty members in areas related to American civilization. This teaching award commemorates Sylvia E. Bowman (1914-1989), a respected scholar and author who gave 34 years of service to IU as a professor, academic administrator, and chancellor for regional campus administration.

Part-time Teaching Awards will go to two professors. Larry A. Landis, adjunct professor in the IU School of Law-Indianapolis, will receive the award, as will Julia K. Lawson, lecturer in the Department of Germanic Studies in the College of Arts and Sciences on the Bloomington campus.

Two IU Bloomington doctoral students in the College of Arts and Sciences will receive Lieber Memorial Teaching Associate Awards. They are Ryan Hallows and Renato de Souza Alvim, both from the Department of Spanish and Portuguese.

The W. George Pinnell Award for Outstanding Service will be given to two IU faculty. At IU Northwest, Charles P. Gallmeier, professor of sociology in the Department of Sociology and Anthropology, will receive the award, while at IU Kokomo, the award will go to Lynda D. Narwold, clinical professor of nursing and director of the nursing programs in the School of Nursing.

The University Faculty Council established the Pinnell Award in 1988, honoring the memory of the former executive vice president of the university who also served during his career as president of the IU Foundation and dean of IU's Kelley School of Business. Pinnell was known for his stewardship, leadership, initiative and service to the university, the state and the national government. The award recognizes faculty members or librarians who have shown exceptional breadth of involvement and depth of commitment in service to the university, their profession or the public.

David L. Ransel, the Robert F. Byrnes Professor of History in the College of Arts and Sciences at IU Bloomington, will receive the John W. Ryan Award for distinguished contributions to international programs.

The Ryan Award was initiated in 1991 and named for the man who was president of IU from 1971 to 1987. John Ryan, now president emeritus, was instrumental in fostering IU's commitment to excellence in international education. The award honors faculty members or librarians who have made exceptional contributions to the university's international programs and studies.

The Ehrlich Service Learning Award will go to Marjorie Hershey, professor of political science in the College of Arts and Sciences at IU Bloomington. This award is presented annually to an IU professor who has shown particular merit in service learning. The award is named after Thomas Ehrlich, who served as IU's president from 1987 to 1994.

2010 Distinguished Teaching Award Winner biographies:

Distinguished Professorships

Howard J. Edenberg, IUPUI:

Larry E. Humes, IU Bloomington:

J. Scott Long, IU Bloomington:

Dean D. T. Maglinte, IUPUI:

Elinor Ostrom, IU Bloomington:

The Frederic Bachman Lieber Memorial Award

Beth Burchfield Kern, IU South Bend:

The Herman Frederic Lieber Memorial Award

Dale R. Sengelaub, IU Bloomington:

The President's Awards

Ann M. Grens, IU South Bend:

M. Elizabeth (Beth) Wood, IU Bloomington:

The Sylvia Bowman Award

Jennifer Ann Drobac, IUPUI:

The Part-Time Teaching Awards

Larry A. Landis, IUPUI:

Julia Karin Lawson, IU Bloomington:

The Lieber Memorial Teaching Associate Awards

Renato de Souza Alvim, IU Bloomington:

Ryan David Hallows, IU Bloomington:

The John W. Ryan Award for Distinguished Contributions to International Programs and Studies

David L. Ransel, IU Bloomington:

The Thomas Ehrlich Award for Excellence in Service Learning

Marjorie Randon Hershey, IU Bloomington:

The W. George Pinnell Awards for Outstanding Service

Charles P. Gallmeier, IU Northwest:

Lynda D. Narwold, Kokomo:

IU Information about these awards may be found at