Indiana University

Skip to:

  1. Search
  2. Breadcrumb Navigation
  3. Content
  4. Browse by Topic
  5. Services & Resources
  6. Additional Resources
  7. Multimedia News

Media Contacts

Tina Gilliland
College of Arts and Sciences

Last modified: Tuesday, March 16, 2010

Indiana's youngest scientists coming to Bloomington for Science Olympiad 2010

March 16, 2010

BLOOMINGTON, Ind. -- Indiana University Bloomington will play host to the Indiana Science Olympiad State Tournament this Saturday (March 20), as more than 50 high school and middle school teams of young scientists will compete for a chance to represent Indiana at the National Science Olympiad Tournament at the University of Illinois Urbana-Champagne in May.

Science Olympiad students

Photo courtesy of the College of Arts and Sciences

Students preparing their materials for the Bottle Rockets competition at a previous Science Olympiad

Print-Quality Photo

Indiana University Bloomington faculty, research scientists, students and staff, along with scientists and volunteers from the Bloomington community will coordinate and judge 56 science and engineering events. IU Bloomington Provost and Executive Vice President Karen Hanson and College of Arts and Sciences Associate Dean Catherine Pilachowski will both speak at the awards ceremony at the end of the day, and both will also award medals to event winners.

Additional information can be gathered from the Web site at

List of participating schools and coaches:

  • B-01 St. John the Baptist, Iris Esquivel & Steffanie Battista, Whiting
  • B-02 Wilbur Wright Middle School, Keith Koszut & Kym Tansey, Munster
  • B-03 Our Lady of Grace, Georgia Veneziano & David Veneziano, Highland
  • B-04 Highland Hills Middle School, Brian Brewer & April Elmore, Georgetown
  • B-05 Benjamin Franklin Middle School, Amanda & Nate Nunnelly, Valparaiso
  • B-06 CN Scott Middle School, Jeannette Melcic & George Cogdill, Hammond
  • B-07 St. Mary Catholic Community School, Courtney Bergquist & Rebecca Hopkins, Crown Point
  • B-08 St. Edward School, Lisa Kreutz & Christine Stegenga, Lowell
  • B-09 Winamac Middle School, Steve Slaven & Dave Budd, Winamac
  • B-10 Jackson Creek Middle School, Nancy Martin & Rita Knox, Bloomington
  • B-11 Sycamore School, David Schuth, Indianapolis
  • B-12 Southport Middle School, Brooke Nelson, Indianapolis
  • B-13 Wainwright Middle School, Lesley Mackey & Neil Mackey, Lafayette
  • B-14 Tri North Middle School, Melissa Lewis, Bloomington
  • B-15 Rensselaer Central Middle School, Stacy Kurdelak & Rose Scherer, Rensselaer
  • B-16 Scottsburg Middle School, Eldon Cutter & Brian Roberts, Scottsburg
  • B-17 St. Simon the Apostle, Susan McGregor & Amy Sullivan, Indianapolis
  • B-18 West Lafayette Jr/Sr High School, Phil Pusey & Gracie Shukle, West Lafayette
  • B-19 Taft Middle School, Tracie Geer & Rodney Geer, Crown Point
  • B-20 Grimmer Middle School, Marjorie Thompson & Carolyn Simmons, Schererville
  • B-21 Manchester Jr/Sr High School, Sue Gnagy & Ryan Evans, North Manchester
  • B-22 Stanley Clark School, Dru Wrasse & George Phillip, South Bend
  • B-23 Northridge Middle School, Laurie Brewster & Jennifer Cormack, Middlebury
  • B-24 Chesterton Middle School, Samantha Hayes & Sara Filipek, Chesterton
  • B-25 Thomas Jefferson Middle School, Richard Bender & Carol Haller, Valparaiso
  • B-26 International School of Columbus, Deborah Gaff & Jon Fischer, Valparaiso
  • C-01 Chesterton High School, Kim Stahura, Chesterton
  • C-02 Munster High School, Keith Koszut & Shonna Siegers, Munster
  • C-03 Canterbury Newton School, Dan DeMarchis, Fort Wayne
  • C-04 Whiting High School, Dan Nichols & Jeremy Long, Whiting
  • C-05 Peru High School, David Swihart, Andrew Berryman, Yvonne Bertke, & Valerie Doud, Peru
  • C-06 Riley High School, Ben Brubaker & Matt Modlin, South Bend
  • C-07 Salem High School, John Calhoun & Greg McCurdy, Salem
  • C-08 Bloomington High School South, Sabrina Grossman & Cindy Kvale, Bloomington
  • C-09 E.C. Central High School, Eric Kundich & Elizabeth Rivera, East Chicago
  • C-10 Kokomo High School, Edd Pulver & Judy Harris, Kokomo
  • C-11 Carmel High School, Fran Rushing & Jeremy Horner, Carmel
  • C-12 North Central High School, Steve Herman, Indianapolis
  • C-13 West Lafayette High School, Peter von Werder, West Lafayette
  • C-14 Madison Consolidated High School, Ed Johnson, Madison
  • C-15 Beech Grove High School, Kevin Banks, Beech Grove
  • C-16 Bloomington High School North, John Portle & Elise Hudson, Bloomington
  • C-17 Indiana Academy, George Devendorf & Cheryl Kellog, Muncie
  • C-18 Marian High School, Ken Andrzejewski & Ann Rutherford, Mishawaka
  • C-19 Highland High School, Sean Hunter & Dan Chapman, Highland
  • C-20 Manchester Jr-Sr High School, Sue Gnagy & Ryan Evans, North Manchester
  • C-21 Castle High School, Tom Dahlquist & Jill Ohlsen, Newburgh
  • C-22 Terre Haute South High School, Ashley Cassell, Terre Haute
  • C-23 La Lumiere School, Bryan Smith & Tom Falcone, La Porte
  • C-24 Lake Central High School, Fred Farnell, St. John
  • C-25 Northridge High School, Jeremy Gerber & Laura Simons, Middlebury
  • C-26 Valparaiso High School, Jim Young & Kristen Schafer, Valparaiso

For more information about the tournament or to arrange for a media visit, please contact Tina Gilliland, College of Arts and Sciences, at 812-855-5397 or