Indiana University

Skip to:

  1. Search
  2. Breadcrumb Navigation
  3. Content
  4. Browse by Topic
  5. Services & Resources
  6. Additional Resources
  7. Multimedia News

Media Contacts

Ryan Piurek
IU Media Relations

Last modified: Thursday, April 15, 2004

IU unveils portrait of President Emeritus Myles Brand

Portrait of President Emeritus Myles Brand

Print-Quality Photo

BLOOMINGTON, Ind. -- Indiana University added to its "legacy of leadership" today (April 15) with the traditional unveiling of a portrait of President Emeritus Myles Brand.

On a day when its 17th president, Adam Herbert, will be inaugurated, IU unveiled the presidential portrait of its 16th president before an audience that included Herbert and former presidents John Ryan (1971-87), Thomas Ehrlich (1987-94) and Jerry Bepko (interim, 2003). The ceremony took place in the East Mezzanine of the Indiana Memorial Union, where several other presidential portraits are on permanent display.

"It's been a privilege of a lifetime to serve this university," said Brand, who served as IU president from 1994 to 2002 before leaving to become president of the National Collegiate Athletic Association. "It's what I'll remember most and what I'm most proud of. I couldn't be more proud of this university and where it is today."

In his welcoming remarks, Herbert praised Brand for continuing IU's "legacy of leadership" and presiding over a period of remarkable growth at the university. During his tenure, Brand oversaw record student enrollments, a doubling of research grants and contracts, and the largest single private gift in the university's history, a $105 million grant from the Lilly Endowment to fund the Indiana Genomics Initiative. Herbert also credited Brand for the university's national leadership role in information technology and the life sciences and for maintaining a commitment to the arts and humanities.

"The university president is a steward," Brand said. "It was a team effort."

Brand's portrait was painted by James A. Fox of New York and given to the university as a gift by the Indiana University Foundation.