Indiana University

Skip to:

  1. Search
  2. Breadcrumb Navigation
  3. Content
  4. Browse by Topic
  5. Services & Resources
  6. Additional Resources
  7. Multimedia News

Media Contacts

David Bricker
IU Media Relations

Last modified: Tuesday, May 4, 2004

Loren Rieseberg elected to the American Academy of Arts & Sciences

Loren Rieseberg

Photo by: Chris Meyer

Distinguished Professor of Biology Loren Rieseberg with his favored model organism, the sunflower

Print-Quality Photo

BLOOMINGTON, Ind. -- Loren Rieseberg, Distinguished Professor of Biology at Indiana University Bloomington, has been elected a fellow of the American Academy of Arts & Sciences. The plant geneticist and evolutionary biologist joins a roll of past winners that includes Benjamin Franklin, Ralph Waldo Emerson, Winston Churchill and Albert Einstein.

Election to the Cambridge, Mass.-based academy recognizes the importance of an individual's contributions to an academic or professional field. According to the academy's own announcement on Friday (April 30), "Throughout its history, the Academy has gathered individuals with diverse perspectives to participate in studies and projects focusing on advancing intellectual thought and constructive action."

In the past year, Rieseberg has been the recipient of several awards and honors, including a $500,000 John D. and Catherine T. MacArthur Foundation Fellowship, a 2004 Guggenheim Fellowship, and the first-ever Stebbins Medal from the Vienna, Austria-based International Association for Plant Taxonomy, which he will receive later this month. He was elected a fellow of the American Association for the Advancement of Science last year.

"In addition to this being a well-deserved personal recognition for Loren's ground-breaking contributions to evolutionary biology, we can be proud that his election emphasizes this department's reputation as one of the best biology departments in the country," said IUB Biology Chair Elizabeth Raff. "He is the sixth IU biology faculty member to be elected in the past few years."

Recent IU electees to the AAA&S include pianist Menahem Pressler, cellist Janos Starker, Metropolitan Opera alumna Martina Arroyo, and biologists Thomas Kaufman, Howard Gest, Rudolf Raff, Jeff Palmer and Michael Lynch.

To speak with Rieseberg, contact David Bricker at 812-856-9035 or