Indiana University

Skip to:

  1. Search
  2. Breadcrumb Navigation
  3. Content
  4. Browse by Topic
  5. Services & Resources
  6. Additional Resources
  7. Multimedia News

Last modified: Monday, September 13, 2010

New committees will strengthen IU's 'academic core'

Sept. 13, 2010

BLOOMINGTON, Ind. -- Indiana University President Michael A. McRobbie announced today the formation of three new committees that have been charged with, among other goals, reviewing the quality and efficiency of IU's academic structures, reexamining the university's approaches to teaching and learning, and revitalizing a historically significant area of the IU Bloomington campus.

The three committees, which McRobbie first outlined earlier this year in his annual State of the University address, are: the New Academic Directions Committee, the University Steering Committee and the Old Crescent Academic Working Group.

Michael McRobbie

Michael McRobbie

Print-Quality Photo

"Preserving and strengthening the academic core of Indiana University is our highest priority," McRobbie said. "As the state's flagship university, we have a responsibility to engage in critical self assessment that allows us to make informed decisions about the quality, currency and relevancy of the education we provide and the efficiency of our organization.

"These three initiatives will bring together knowledgeable and creative individuals from across the faculty and administration who will work together toward ensuring that we continue to provide an excellent education and avoid inefficiencies that can accumulate in any large organization over time."

McRobbie has charged the New Academic Directions Committee, which will be co-chaired by IU Bloomington Provost Karen Hanson and Indiana University-Purdue University Indianapolis Chancellor Charles Bantz, with reviewing IU's academic structures for quality, effectiveness, efficiency and responsiveness to major educational trends.

Among other issues, the committee will examine the kinds of degrees and educational opportunities offered at IU, the structure and organization of academic units, and areas in which IU might consider the creation of new schools or academic units. It will also consider whether current schools should be transformed in ways that enable them to take better advantage of significant educational trends happening around the world.

The committee, which is expected to report back to McRobbie early next year, will also include:

  • John Applegate, Vice President for University Regional Affairs, Planning and Policy
  • Simon Atkinson, Associate Professor, IU School of Medicine
  • William Blomquist, Dean, School of Liberal Arts, IUPUI
  • Craig Brater, Dean, IU School of Medicine
  • Maria Bucur, John W. Hill Chair of European History and Director, Russian and East European Institute, IU Bloomington
  • Fred Cate, Distinguished Professor and C. Ben Dutton Chair of Law, Maurer School of Law, IU Bloomington
  • Daniel Cole, Bruce Townsend Professor of Law, IU School of Law-Indianapolis
  • Michael Coleman, President, Indiana University Student Association, IU Bloomington
  • John Graham, Dean, School of Public and Environmental Affairs
  • Jorge Josť, Vice President for Research
  • Shreyas Joshi, President, Medical Student Council, IUPUI
  • Bernice Pescosolido, Distinguished Professor, Sociology, IU Bloomington
  • Elizabeth Raff, Professor of Biology, IU Bloomington
  • Robert Schnabel, Dean, School of Informatics and Computing
  • Anantha Shekhar, Raymond E. Houk Professor in Psychiatry, IUPUI
  • Neil Theobald, Vice President and Chief Financial Officer
  • William Tierney, Chancellor's Professor and Joseph J. Mamlin Professor of Medicine, IUPUI
  • James Wimbush, Dean, University Graduate School
  • David Zaret, Interim Dean, College of Arts and Sciences, IU Bloomington

In his State of the University address, McRobbie directed each IU campus to establish a New Directions in Learning Committee that would focus on teaching, technology and content vital for student success. The committees will seek to identify whether IU is using new instructional methods and technologies -- many of which were unavailable just a decade ago -- to ensure that students have the knowledge and skills they need to make a positive impact in their communities.

McRobbie announced today that a central Steering Committee will oversee and coordinate the work of the various campus committees. It will also plan a conference for next spring, when the campus committees will discuss their initial recommendations. The Steering Committee will be chaired by IU Vice President for University Regional Affairs, Planning and Policy John Applegate and also include:

  • Edwin C. Marshall, Vice President for Diversity, Equity and Multicultural Affairs
  • Robert Schnabel, Dean, School of Informatics and Computing
  • Susan Sciame-Giesecke, Executive Vice Chancellor for Academic Affairs, IU Kokomo
  • Sonya Stevens, Vice Provost for Undergraduate Education, IU Bloomington
  • Uday Sukhatme, Executive Vice Chancellor for Academic Affairs, IUPUI
  • Esther Uduehi, IU Bloomington student and presidential intern
  • Brad Wheeler, Vice President for Information Technology

The newly established Old Crescent Academic Working Group will examine issues surrounding the reallocation of space in the historic area of the IU Bloomington campus known as the Old Crescent. Presently, only about half of the buildings that comprise the Old Crescent house academic units. The group will consider alternative locations for the administrative units currently housed there, examine the potential need for renovation of these buildings and identify funding that will be needed for these renovations.

The working group will be convened by IU Bloomington Provost Hanson and Vice President for Capital Projects and Facilities Tom Morrison. Other members from the IU Bloomington campus include:

  • JoEllen Baldwin, Associate Director, Office of Space Management
  • Tom Gieryn, Vice Provost for Faculty and Academic Affairs
  • Audrey McCluskey, Associate Professor, African American and African Diaspora Studies
  • Bob Meadows, University Architect
  • Richard Miller, Professor, Department of Religious Studies and Director, Poynter Center
  • Patrick Murray, Director, Bureau of Facilities Programs and Utilization
  • Jutta Schickore, Associate Professor, Department of History and Philosophy of Science
  • Paul Sullivan, Deputy Vice President, Office of the Vice President for Capital Projects and Facilities
  • Steve Watt, Associate Dean for Undergraduate Education, College of Arts and Sciences
  • Joan Weiner, Professor, Department of Philosophy

The working group is expected to deliver a report to McRobbie by early next year.