Indiana University

Skip to:

  1. Search
  2. Breadcrumb Navigation
  3. Content
  4. Browse by Topic
  5. Services & Resources
  6. Additional Resources
  7. Multimedia News

Last modified: Tuesday, November 2, 2010

IU Student Media sweeps national publications awards

Indiana Daily Student receives its 16th Pacemaker

Nov. 2, 2010

BLOOMINGTON, Ind. -- The Indiana Daily Student newspaper and its site,, earned top honors, and Indiana University student journalists swept individual awards at the Fall National College Media Convention.

Arbutus Sports Photo

Brandon Foltz' award-winning photo, "Tennis doubles"

This past weekend, the newspaper and its site won Pacemaker Awards -- the top prizes in collegiate journalism -- from Associated Collegiate Press at the convention in Louisville, Ky.

IU journalists won a range of individual awards in reporting, photojournalism, design and informational graphics. IU students won four national first places, and they dominated the Best of Collegiate Design competition, sponsored by the national organization College Media Advisers.

Leading IU in the convention's individual awards was Larry Buchanan, newspaper and magazine designer. Buchanan won four first places, a second, a third, two fourth, a fifth and two honorable mentions.

This was the Indiana Daily Student's 16th Pacemaker, continuing its track record as as one of the nation's most-honored collegiate newspapers.

This fall's newspaper, magazine and their sites also won places in the convention's Best of Show competition.

Inside Music Edition

The award-winning cover, Inside magazine's "music edition"

Below is a list of IU's award winners:

Associated Collegiate Press awards for 2009-10

  • Pacemaker, four-year daily newspaper, Indiana Daily Student, Natalie Avon, fall 2009 editor, and Brad Zehr, spring 2010 editor
  • Pacemaker, online newspaper,
  • Pacemaker finalist, magazine Inside, CJ Lotz, editor

ACP convention Best of Show for fall 2010

  • Magazine, third, Inside
  • Four-year daily newspaper, fourth, IDS
  • Online, eighth, Inside magazine, at
  • Newspaper special section, ninth, IDS, "Homecoming"

First places in ACP individual awards for 2009-10

  • Feature story of the year, Kelly Cochran, IDS, "A story that's far too common"
  • Sports story of the year, Sean Morrison, IDS, "IU high jumper learns to fly"
  • Design of the year, newsmagazine/special section cover, Larry Buchanan, Inside, "Music issue"
  • Sports photo, Brandon Foltz, Arbutus yearbook, "Tennis doubles"

Additional ACP individual awards for 2009-10

  • Design of the year, magazine/yearbook page/spread, second, Larry Buchanan, Inside, "Prisoners of our own devices"
  • Advertising, brochure/rate card, second, IDS staff
  • Multimedia story of the year, second, Ryan Dorgan,, "Limestone"
  • Feature photo, third, James Brosher, Arbutus, "Snowball fight"
  • Cartooning, comic panel/strip, third, Adam McFetridge, IDS, "Downhill From here"
  • Design of the year, newsmagazine/special-section cover, fourth, Larry Buchanan, IDS, "Little 500 Guide"
  • Advertising, display ad, honorable mention, Brittany Miller and Denice Kinney, IDS, "Superior Shoes"
  • Design of the Year, newspaper Page One, honorable mention, Larry Buchanan, IDS, "7"

CMA Best of Collegiate Design

  • Informational graphic, first, Biz Carson, IDS, "Big bucks in the Big Ten"
  • Feature page, first, Sarah Thacker, IDS, "Spoken from the heart"
  • Sports page, first, Larry Buchanan, IDS, "To the track"
  • Nameplate/standing heads, first, Larry Buchanan, IDS, "Music"
  • Cover, special section, first, Larry Buchanan, IDS Little 500 guide
  • Main-page presentation, online, first, Inside staff, at, "Hands-on learning"
  • Photo page/spread, second, Matt Callahan, IDS, "Seniors end IU journey"
  • Editorial/opinion page, third, Danielle Rindler and Adam McFetridge, IDS, "No. 28"
  • Feature spread, magazine, third, Larry Buchanan, Inside, "Honest work," and fifth, Larry Buchanan, Inside, "Prisoners of our own devices"
  • Main-page presentation, online, third, IDS Weekend staff, "Baker's Junction"
  • Advertisement, fourth, Denice Kinney, IDS, "Panhellenic Association"
  • Editorial illustration, fourth, Evan Mannweiler, IDS, "They're Here"
  • Cover, magazine, fourth, Larry Buchanan, Inside, "Music issue"
  • Main-page presentation, online, fourth, IDS staff, "Ostrom becomes first woman to win Nobel Prize in economics"
  • Individuals spread, yearbook, fifth, Kevin Pozzi, 2009 Arbutus, "Back from the limelight"
  • Contents page, magazine, honorable mention, Larry Buchanan, Inside, "Music issue"

College Media Advisers board of directors service citation

  • Ruth Witmer, IDS news adviser, for convention programming