Indiana University

Skip to:

  1. Search
  2. Breadcrumb Navigation
  3. Content
  4. Browse by Topic
  5. Services & Resources
  6. Additional Resources
  7. Multimedia News

Media Contacts

Greg Buse
Office of the Provost

Last modified: Wednesday, February 2, 2011

IU Bloomington seeks student commencement speakers

Feb. 2, 2011

BLOOMINGTON, Ind. -- Indiana University Provost and Executive Vice President Karen Hanson announced today that nominations and applications are being sought for student speakers for the May 7, 2011, undergraduate commencement ceremonies at IU Bloomington.

"Many years ago, every graduating student gave a speech as part of commencement exercises that lasted several days," said Hanson. "Last year, Jack McCarthy and Natsuki Atagi were chosen to inaugurate a new modern-era tradition of student speakers at the undergraduate ceremonies. Jack and Natsuki did an outstanding job, and both reported that the opportunity to speak was a wonderful capstone to their IU experience."

grad speaker

Natsuki Atagi speaks at the May 2010 IU Bloomington commencement ceremony.

Print-Quality Photo

A selection committee will review applications, interview a number of candidates, and recommend finalists to Hanson. The students who are chosen will receive guidance on preparing and delivering their speeches.

Any student who is graduating in May 2011 or summer 2011 and who has a cumulative grade point average of at least 3.5 may apply. In addition to a strong academic record, the committee will look for students with strong written and verbal communication skills, a history of participation in campus or community activities, and a unique story to tell.

Two students will be selected -- one for each of the undergraduate ceremonies.

The application deadline is March 4. To apply, students must complete an application form available on the Office of the Provost's website at Along with the completed form, applicants must submit an essay, letters of recommendation, a resume, a transcript, and an outline of the speech they intend to deliver. Additional information is available on the Office of the Provost's website.

Faculty, staff, and students may submit nominations via e-mail to by Feb. 15.