Indiana University

Skip to:

  1. Search
  2. Breadcrumb Navigation
  3. Content
  4. Browse by Topic
  5. Services & Resources
  6. Additional Resources
  7. Multimedia News

Media Contacts

Susan Williams
University Communications

Last modified: Thursday, March 31, 2011

University-wide distinguished teaching awards to be presented at Indiana University

March 31, 2011

BLOOMINGTON, Ind. -- "A university cannot render distinguished service to its constituency without a distinguished faculty; therefore, the selection of faculty personnel is of first importance," legendary IU President Herman B Wells told trustees in 1942 when he spoke of his vision for the university and his aim to attract the best and brightest faculty members to Indiana.

As the university marks its founding 191 years ago this spring, President Michael A. McRobbie will salute continued great teaching at Indiana University as he recognizes individuals in honor of Founders Day at the 2011 Celebration of Distinguished Teaching dinner on April 8.

"Indiana University's Founders Day observances offer us an important opportunity to recognize the powerful impact that our faculty have on their students," McRobbie said. "Through dedication to their students, superior scholarship and creative activity, these outstanding faculty members have made IU one of the world's leading centers of teaching and learning. For their tireless efforts on behalf of IU, they are deserving of our grateful recognition and highest praise."

Fourteen faculty members and two doctoral students will be recognized for outstanding teaching, research and service to the university. The award recipients teach at IU Bloomington, Indiana University-Purdue University Indianapolis, Indiana University East and Indiana University South Bend.

As noted in an earlier news release, five IU professors will be elevated to the rank of Distinguished Professor. All are from the IU Bloomington campus. Geoffrey Fox, professor of informatics, computing and physics, and director of the Digital Science Center at the Pervasive Technology Institute, teaches in both the College of Arts and Sciences and the School of Informatics and Computing. He will receive the rank of Distinguished Professor. From the College of Arts and Sciences, Michael J. Larsen, professor of mathematics, Curtis M. Lively, professor of biology, and William R. Thompson, the Donald A. Rogers Professor of Political Science, will be elevated to Distinguished Professor. And from the School of Journalism, David H. Weaver, the Roy W. Howard Professor of Journalism, will be named Distinguished Professor.

The Lieber Memorial Awards for distinguished teaching will go to faculty on the IU South Bend and IU East campuses. Gwendolyn Mettetal, professor of education and psychology, will receive the Frederic Bachman Lieber Memorial Award at IU South Bend. The Herman Frederick Lieber Memorial Award will go to Alisa Clapp-Itnyre, associate professor of English at IU East in the School of Humanities and Social Sciences.

The Frederic Bachman Lieber Award was established in 1954 by Katie D. Bachman in honor of her grandson. The Herman Frederic Lieber Award was originally sponsored by the IU Foundation and is now sponsored by Mrs. Herman Lieber of Indianapolis.

The President's Award, which was established in 1974 to recognize outstanding teaching, research or service, will go to two faculty at IU Bloomington. Jill Kirsten Robinson, senior lecturer in chemistry in the College of Arts and Sciences, will receive the award, as will Heidi A. Ross, professor of educational policy studies and comparative education in the School of Education.

At IU South Bend, Gail M. McGuire, associate professor and chair of the Department of Sociology and Anthropology in the College of Liberal Arts and Sciences, will receive the Sylvia E. Bowman Award.

Established in 1994, the Sylvia E. Bowman Award honors exemplary faculty members in areas related to American civilization. This teaching award commemorates Sylvia E. Bowman (1914-1989), a respected scholar and author who gave 34 years of service to IU as a professor, academic administrator, and chancellor for regional campus administration.

Two IU Bloomington doctoral students in the College of Arts and Sciences will receive Lieber Memorial Teaching Associate Awards. They are Emily A. Bowman, a doctoral student in sociology, and Michael Mosier, a doctoral student in Hispanic literature.

John H. Hanson, associate professor of history in the College of Arts and Sciences at IU Bloomington, and Marjorie A. Lyles, professor of international strategic management and the OneAmerica Chair in Business Administration at IUPUI, will receive the John W. Ryan Award for distinguished contributions to international programs.

The Ryan Award was initiated in 1991 and named for the man who was president of IU from 1971 to 1987. John Ryan, now president emeritus, was instrumental in fostering IU's commitment to excellence in international education. The award honors faculty members or librarians who have made exceptional contributions to the university's international programs and studies.

The W. George Pinnell Award for Outstanding Service will be given to two IU faculty. At IU East, Greg Braxton-Brown, professor of management and director of Southeast Indiana Programs in the School of Business and Economics, will receive the award, while at IU South Bend, the award will go to April Lidinsky, associate professor of women's studies in the College of Liberal Arts and Sciences.

The University Faculty Council established the Pinnell Award in 1988, honoring the memory of the former executive vice president of the university who also served during his career as president of the IU Foundation and dean of IU's Kelley School of Business. Pinnell was known for his stewardship, leadership, initiative and service to the university, the state and the national government. The award recognizes faculty members or librarians who have shown exceptional breadth of involvement and depth of commitment in service to the university, their profession or the public.

2011 Distinguished Teaching Award Winner biographies:

Emily A. Bowman,

Greg Braxton-Brown,

Alisa Clapp-Itnyre,

Geoffrey Fox,

John H. Hanson,

Michael J. Larsen,

April Lidinsky,

Curtis M. Lively,

Marjorie A. Lyles,

Gail M. McGuire,

Gwendolyn Mettetal,

Michael Mosier,

Jill Kirsten Robinson,

Heidi A. Ross,

William R. Thompson,

David H. Weaver,