Indiana University

Skip to:

  1. Search
  2. Breadcrumb Navigation
  3. Content
  4. Browse by Topic
  5. Services & Resources
  6. Additional Resources
  7. Multimedia News

Media Contacts

Mark Land
University Communications

George Vlahakis
University Communications

Last modified: Thursday, June 30, 2011

Shoulders re-elected as IU alumni trustee

June 30, 2011

BLOOMINGTON, Ind. -- Indiana University graduates today (June 30) re-elected Patrick A. Shoulders of Evansville, Ind., to a fourth three-year term on the IU Board of Trustees.

Shoulders, a member of the law firm of Ziemer, Stayman, Weitzel & Shoulders in Evansville, was initially appointed as an IU trustee in 2002, and then was elected by alumni to the board again in 2005 and 2008. Shoulders received 11,179 votes in the 2011 election.

Patrick A. Shoulders

Print-Quality Photo

In accordance with state law, the annual election is conducted by the Dean of University Libraries on the Bloomington campus, with assistance from the IU Alumni Association. Library staff and students undertook the task of counting nearly 16,500 ballots.

"I'm honored that the alumni have given me the opportunity to serve our beloved alma mater for another three years. IU is on a great path right now, and I pledge to work hard to continue its success," Shoulders said. "I want to thank my opponents and encourage them to stay connected to IU and encourage all of our alumni to stay involved with the university."

Shoulders holds two IU degrees, a J.D., (Magna Cum Laude) from the IU School of Law - Indianapolis, and a bachelor of arts from IU Bloomington. He chaired the IU Alumni Association in 2000 and has served on the Varsity Club and IU Foundation Board of Directors.

He is a Fellow of the American College of Trial Lawyers and has played a leadership role in a number of professional organizations. He has long been deeply involved in the Evansville community, devoting his time to organizations involved with youth, in the arts, recreation, public broadcasting, local government and education. He received the Hine Medal from IUPUI in 2005, a Sagamore of the Wabash in 1996, and the Herman Wells Leadership Award from Sigma Nu Fraternity in 2005.

Other candidates and their vote totals were:

  • Jonathan Sweeny, Bloomington, Ind., 3,481
  • William "Bill" A. Werner Jr., Hanna, Ind., 1,827

This was the fourth year that alumni could vote online, and 11,104 ballots were cast in that manner. There were 5,383 valid paper ballots. Alumni had to return a postcard in order to receive a paper ballot. Due to a lack of signatures, 241 paper ballots were declared invalid and 17 paper ballots or envelopes were voided for other reasons.

IU has nine trustees, three of whom are elected by alumni. The other two alumni trustees are Philip N. Eskew Jr. of North Webster, Ind., who was elected in 2006 and re-elected in 2009; and MaryEllen Kiley Bishop, who was elected in 2010. Eskew's term expires in 2012 and Bishop's term expires in 2013.

The remaining trustees are appointed by Indiana Gov. Mitch Daniels, who announced on June 23 that Dr. William Cast and Tom Reilly Jr. have been reappointed to third terms on the board. Gov. Daniels has not announced the selection of the student trustee.