Indiana University

Skip to:

  1. Search
  2. Breadcrumb Navigation
  3. Content
  4. Browse by Topic
  5. Services & Resources
  6. Additional Resources
  7. Multimedia News

Last modified: Wednesday, November 16, 2011

IU's Bryan McCormick elected Fellow of the Academy of Leisure Sciences

Nov. 16, 2011

BLOOMINGTON, Ind. -- Bryan McCormick, professor and chair of the Department of Recreation, Park and Tourism Studies in Indiana University's School of Health, Physical Education and Recreation, has been elected a Fellow of the Academy of Leisure Sciences, the leading honorary society for leisure, park and recreation sciences.

McCormick image

Bryan McCormick

Print-Quality Photo

The honor is in recognition of his long, outstanding contribution to scholarship in the field. McCormick was inducted into the Academy of Leisure Sciences during its business meeting in Atlanta this month.

McCormick, also interim chair of the School of HPER's Department of Environmental Health, focuses his research on the social and community functioning of people with severe mental illnesses. Through the use of a variety of research methodologies, he and colleagues have examined such elements as daily physical activity, mood and social context as well as recreation and support networks, all in an effort to identify the role of everyday experience in well-being.

McCormick was a 2010 Fulbright Scholar, conducting research at the University of Kragujevac in Serbia. He is associate editor of the Journal of Leisure Research, co-editor of the Annual in Therapeutic Recreation (Vols. 13-14), School of HPER Teaching Excellence Recognition Award recipient, and recipient of the David R. Austin Member of the Year Award for Recreational Therapists of Indiana. He also is past-president of the American Therapeutic Recreation Association.

Academy of Leisure Sciences Fellows among the School of HPER faculty include professors Lynn Jamieson, Alan Ewert and Barbara Hawkins, and professor emeriti David Compton, David Austin, Herbert Brantley, Janet MacLean and Tony Mobley.

The Academy of Leisure Sciences is an honorary society composed of eminent scientists who have made outstanding and distinctive contributions to the leisure, park and recreation sciences. Although many fellows continue to maintain active programs of research, election to the Academy reflects a career-long record of outstanding contributions to knowledge.