Indiana University

Skip to:

  1. Search
  2. Breadcrumb Navigation
  3. Content
  4. Browse by Topic
  5. Services & Resources
  6. Additional Resources
  7. Multimedia News

Media Contacts

Emilie Rex
IU Office of Sustainability

Last modified: Friday, October 12, 2012

Nomination deadline extended for the first Campus Sustainability Awards

Oct. 12, 2012

BLOOMINGTON, Ind. -- The deadline for nominations for the first IU Bloomington Campus Sustainability Awards has been extended to Monday, Oct. 22. The awards ceremony will be from 7 to 8 p.m. Nov. 14 at the Neal-Marshall Black Culture Center's Grand Hall.

The IU Bloomington Office of Sustainability is accepting nominations for four awards to recognize faculty, staff, students, alumni and community members who have made outstanding contributions to campus sustainability. The award categories are:

  • Excellence in Research
  • Excellence in Teaching
  • Leadership Award
  • Team Award

Criteria for the awards include excellence and innovation that move IU Bloomington closer to the Campus Sustainability Advisory Board's "2020 Vision" for campus, which states: "Indiana University is an international campus sustainability leader recognized for innovation and excellence in academic programs, research, campus environmental quality, campus operations and community outreach that facilitate and demonstrate the path to a more sustainable future."

The awards selection committee consists of sustainability professionals from other Indiana college campuses, including: Robert Koester, Ball State University; Michael Gulick, Purdue University; Carol Steele, DePauw University; Colleen McCormick, Indiana University-Purdue University Indianapolis; and Mike Keen, IU South Bend. Interested parties may nominate an individual or group with an online nomination form.

As a prelude to the Campus Sustainability Awards ceremony, awards for the IU Fall Energy Challenge will be presented in the main lobby of the Neal-Marshall Black Culture Center at 6:45 p.m. Nov. 14 to winners in the categories of residence halls, apartment housing, Greek houses and academic/administrative buildings.