Indiana University

Skip to:

  1. Search
  2. Breadcrumb Navigation
  3. Content
  4. Browse by Topic
  5. Services & Resources
  6. Additional Resources
  7. Multimedia News

Media Contacts

Kathy Gutowsky
IU Foundation

Last modified: Tuesday, November 13, 2012

Jane Jorgensen elected to IU Foundation Board of Directors

Nov. 13, 2012

BLOOMINGTON, Ind. -- Jane Jorgensen, noted philanthropist and prominent member of the Fort Wayne, Ind., community, has been elected to the Indiana University Foundation Board of Directors. The Indiana University Foundation is a not-for-profit corporation that oversees fundraising for all campuses of the university, provides administrative and development services for donors and for IU, and manages the university's endowment of more than $1.5 billion.

Jane Jorgensen

Jane Jorgensen

Print-Quality Photo

"Jane's support for the arts and her commitment to advancing women's philanthropy at Indiana University demonstrate exceptional leadership and vision," IU Foundation President Dan Smith said. "Her energetic dedication to IU is an inspiration to all of us. Jane is a valuable addition to the board, and we're honored to welcome her."

Jorgensen has been a key supporter of the IU Cinema, which opened its doors in 2011. Through the Ove W Jorgensen Foundation, she and her husband, Jay, made contributions that spearheaded the building's renovation and also sponsor the Jorgensen Guest Filmmaker Lecture Series. She continues to play a significant role in donor outreach for the cinema.

Jorgensen has also been active in women's philanthropy at IU. A member of the steering committees for both the Colloquium for Women of IU and the Fort Wayne Colloquium for Women of IU, she is also a founding member of the IU Foundation Women's Philanthropy Council.

A former member of the IU Student Foundation, Jorgensen earned her bachelor's degree in English from IU Bloomington in 1972. She was recognized by the Center on Philanthropy at Indiana University in 2004 with the Unsung Hero Award for her leadership as chairwoman of the capital campaign to build the Jorgensen Family YMCA in Fort Wayne. She received the IU Foundation's President's Medallion in 2008, is a lifetime member of the IU Alumni Association, Northeast Indiana Chapter, sits on the IU Foundation Board of Associates and is a member of the Presidents Circle.