Indiana University

Skip to:

  1. Search
  2. Breadcrumb Navigation
  3. Content
  4. Browse by Topic
  5. Services & Resources
  6. Additional Resources
  7. Multimedia News

Media Contacts

Emilie Rex
IU Office of Sustainability

Last modified: Friday, November 16, 2012

Recipients announced for first IU Bloomington Campus Sustainability Awards

Nov. 16, 2012

BLOOMINGTON, Ind. -- The first Indiana University Bloomington Campus Sustainability Awards were announced this week. In an awards ceremony at the Neal-Marshall Black Culture Center's Grand Hall, the 2012 recipients were recognized for outstanding contributions to campus sustainability in the areas of leadership, teaching, research and collaboration.

Campus Sustainability Award recipients include, from left, Paul Sullivan, Capital Planning and Facilities; Scott Shackelford, Kelley School of Business; Tim Deckard and Todd Reid, IU Surplus Stores; and Jess Vogt, Kaitlyn McClain and Jennifer Swilik, Bloomington Urban Forestry Research Group.

They were Paul Sullivan, Excellence in Leadership; Scott Shackelford, Excellence in Teaching; Bloomington Urban Forestry Research Group, Excellence in Research; and IU Surplus Stores, Team Excellence.

"We could do this every week and still not recognize all of the sustainability heroes doing great work in all of these areas," said Bill Brown, director of sustainability at IU. "Their positive impacts are evident on campus, in the community and around the world."

The ceremony began with introductory remarks from Tom Morrison, IU vice president for capital planning and facilities, who also announced the award for Excellence in Leadership. Sullivan, the IU deputy vice president for capital planning and facilities, has served as a leader in campus sustainability for more than five years, serving as the first operational co-chair of both the Task Force on Sustainability and the Campus Sustainability Advisory Board.

Tom Gieryn, vice provost for faculty and academic affairs, presented the award for Excellence in Teaching to Shackelford, assistant professor of business law and ethics. The selection committee commended Shackelford for his innovative and influential teaching.

Emilie Rex, assistant director of sustainability, presented the Excellence in Research award to the Bloomington Urban Forestry Research Group, a coalition of university researchers and community members.

"I selected Bloomington Urban Forestry as the winning entry in the research category because I believe this research will have significant and broad impact for IU along with the Bloomington and Indianapolis communities," one selection committee member said. "As we continue to see impacts from climate change, this type of research will be essential for identifying mitigation mechanisms."

The award for Team Excellence, presented by Brown, recognized the IU Surplus Stores group for its work overhauling the enterprise, including streamlining the sale of reusable IU property and providing several new and needed recycling services.

Award recipients were chosen based on a set of criteria established by the planning committee. Nominations were reviewed by a panel of sustainability professionals from other Indiana college and university campuses: Robert Koester, director of center for energy research, education and service and professor of architecture, Ball State University; Michael Gulick, director of university sustainability, Purdue University; Carol Steele, director of sustainability, DePauw University; Colleen McCormick, director of sustainability, Indiana University-Purdue University Indianapolis; and Mike Keen, director of the Center for a Sustainable Future, IU South Bend.