Indiana University

Skip to:

  1. Search
  2. Breadcrumb Navigation
  3. Content
  4. Browse by Topic
  5. Services & Resources
  6. Additional Resources
  7. Multimedia News

Media Contacts

Ryan Piurek
Director, news and media, IU Communications

Richard Schneider
IU Communications

Last modified: Tuesday, April 16, 2013

Three students at IU campuses named 2013 Goldwater Scholars

April 15, 2013

BLOOMINGTON, Ind. -- Three students at Indiana University campuses have been awarded Barry M. Goldwater Scholarships, which are presented to the country's most promising undergraduate college students in math, science and engineering.

Benjamin Seitzman

Benjamin Seitzman

Print-Quality Photo

All three recipients are juniors with double majors who plan to earn doctorates in their fields. They are:

Benjamin Allan Seitzman, who is majoring in mathematics and neuroscience at Indiana University Bloomington. Seitzman says his career goal is to earn a Ph.D. in neuroscience, conduct research and teach at the university level.

Jordan Venderley

Jordan Venderley

Print-Quality Photo

Jordan M. Venderley, who is majoring in chemistry and mathematics at Indiana University Bloomington. He plans to earn a Ph.D. in theoretical chemistry, conduct research and teach at the university level.

Jason Walsman, who is majoring in environmental science and biology at Indiana University-Purdue University Indianapolis. Walsman is the first IUPUI student to be named a Goldwater Scholar, considered to be the premier undergraduate award of its kind. Walsman intends to earn a Ph.D. in ecology, conduct research in theoretical ecology, work on applied ecology projects in developing nations and teach at the university level.

"As IUPUI's first recipient of this prestigious scholarship, Jason sets an excellent example for future students," said Jane Luzar, founding dean and professor, IUPUI Honors College. "I look forward to seeing him join the ranks of faculty one day."

The award provides recipients up to $7,500 per year toward tuition, fees, books, and room and board.

The three were among 271 students selected from a field of 1,107 mathematics, science and engineering students to receive the scholarships from the Barry M. Goldwater Scholarship and Excellence in Education Foundation.

Established by the United States Congress in 1986 in honor of former U.S. senator and 1964 presidential candidate Barry Goldwater, the goal of the foundation is to provide a continuing source of highly qualified scientists, mathematicians and engineers by awarding scholarships to college students who intend to pursue careers in these fields.