Indiana University

Skip to:

  1. Search
  2. Breadcrumb Navigation
  3. Content
  4. Browse by Topic
  5. Services & Resources
  6. Additional Resources
  7. Multimedia News

Media Contacts

Mark Land
Associate vice president, IU Communications

Ryan Piurek
Director, news and media, IU Communications

Last modified: Wednesday, April 24, 2013

IU faculty member and former U.S. Sen. Lugar elected to American Academy of Arts and Sciences

April 24, 2013

BLOOMINGTON, Ind. -- Former U.S. Sen. Richard Lugar, the longest-serving senator in Indiana's history and a faculty member in Indiana University's School of Global and International Studies, has been elected to the American Academy of Arts and Sciences, one of the nation's most prestigious honorary societies.

The academy publicly announced the 2013 class of fellows and foreign honorary members today. The 198 new members include some of the world's most accomplished scholars, scientists, writers, artists, and civic, corporate and philanthropic leaders.

Lugar is the 44th IU faculty member to be elected to the academy.

Earlier this year, Lugar joined IU as a distinguished scholar and professor of practice in the university's new School of Global and International Studies, a major initiative to expand students' opportunities for international education and strengthen the university's global presence. The six-term senator and former chairman of the Senate Foreign Relations Committee, who concluded 36 years in office on Jan. 3, also agreed to co-chair the new IU International Advisory Committee with former U.S. Rep. Lee Hamilton.

"I am deeply honored to be elected to membership of the American Academy of Arts and Sciences," Lugar said. "This membership gives me strong encouragement to work with other academy members in scholarship and constructive action to establish and achieve new levels of world nutrition, energy efficiency, economic integrity and transparency, and control and elimination of weapons of mass destruction."

Members of the academy's 2013 class include winners of the Nobel Prize; the National Medal of Science; the Lasker Award; the Pulitzer and the Shaw prizes; the Fields Medal; MacArthur and Guggenheim fellowships; the Kennedy Center Honors; and Grammy, Emmy, Academy and Tony awards.

Lugar was among those elected in the fields of public affairs and journalism. Others elected in those fields include former Secretary of the Air Force Edward "Pete" Aldridge; United Nations Deputy High Commissioner for Refugees Alexander Aleinikoff; New Yorker cartoonist Roz Chast; astronaut, former senator and Presidential Medal of Freedom winner John Glenn; and Maxine Savitz, vice president of the National Academy of Engineering.

"All of us at Indiana University salute Senator Lugar on his latest achievement, one of many honors in a long and distinguished career as one of this nation's great statesmen," said IU President Michael A. McRobbie, who was elected to the academy last year. "We are extremely proud to have Senator Lugar, who served our state and nation with such grace and distinction, as a prominent member of our new School of Global and International Studies. His election to the academy only further confirms his status as an extraordinary individual who promises to greatly impact our efforts to expand IU's presence around the globe and be among the world's leading institutions for international education."

The new class will be inducted at a ceremony Oct. 12 at the academy's headquarters in Cambridge, Mass.

"Election to the academy honors individual accomplishment and calls upon members to serve the public good," said academy President Leslie C. Berlowitz. "We look forward to drawing on the knowledge and expertise of these distinguished men and women to advance solutions to the pressing policy challenges of the day."

The Academy of Arts and Sciences is a leading center for independent policy research. Members contribute to academy publications and studies of science and technology policy, energy and global security, social policy and American institutions, and the humanities, arts and education.

Since its founding in 1780, the academy has elected leading "thinkers and doers" from each generation, including George Washington and Benjamin Franklin in the 18th century, Daniel Webster and Ralph Waldo Emerson in the 19th, and Albert Einstein and Winston Churchill in the 20th. The current membership includes more than 250 Nobel laureates and more than 60 Pulitzer Prize winners.

IU's School of Global and International Studies in the College of Arts and Sciences at IU Bloomington provides opportunities for global and international education for all students, preparing them in the global competencies of the 21st century.