Indiana University

Skip to:

  1. Search
  2. Breadcrumb Navigation
  3. Content
  4. Browse by Topic
  5. Services & Resources
  6. Additional Resources
  7. Multimedia News

Media Contacts

Beth Moellers, Editorial Adviser
Indiana Daily Student

David Adams, Publisher/Director of Student Media
Indiana Daily Student

Last modified: Friday, November 4, 2005

Indiana University student media win in two recent competitions

Nov. 4, 2005

BLOOMINGTON, Ind. -- Indiana University Bloomington student media won several awards in two recent competitions. The Indiana Daily Student won the Society of Professional Journalists Mark of Excellence Award in the category of Best All-Around Daily Student Newspaper.

The National College Media Convention sponsored by the Associated Collegiate Press awarded IUB student media further recognition. The IDS, represented by editor Adam Aasen, a senior from Indianapolis, won Best-in-Show among four-year daily broadsheet newspapers and placed fourth in the four-year special edition newspaper category. The Arbutus, represented by editor Theresa Schwartz, a senior from Fort Wayne, placed third in Best-of-Show for the category of 300-plus-page yearbooks.

The IDS also was honored with two advertising awards. It received first place for its classified section and second place in the category of Small Display Ad. Alumnus Adam Halverson of Marion, Ind., contributed the display ad. Both the IDS and the Arbutus were finalists in respective Pacemaker categories, along with former newspaper student editors Jane Charney of Cincinnati, Ohio; Josh Sanburn of Linton, Ind.; and former Arbutus editor Kathryn Griffin of Fort Wayne.

The Associated Collegiate Press is a division of the National Scholastic Press Association. ACP was first established as a distinct division in 1933. Today it is the largest and oldest national membership organization for college student media in the United States. This year's awards were presented during a five-day convention in Kansas City, Kan., ending Oct. 30. For more information, visit

For 33 years, the Society of Professional Journalists has presented the Mark of Excellence Awards honoring the best in student journalism. National winners were honored at the Mark of Excellence Luncheon on Oct. 17, in Las Vegas. For more information, visit