Indiana University

Skip to:

  1. Search
  2. Breadcrumb Navigation
  3. Content
  4. Browse by Topic
  5. Services & Resources
  6. Additional Resources
  7. Multimedia News

Media Contacts

George Vlahakis

Last modified: Monday, March 18, 2002

Scripps Howard Foundation honors IU journalism student

The Scripps Howard Foundation has named an Indiana University journalism student as one of five winners of its annual "Most Valuable Staffer" competition, which was open to U.S. college newspaper staff members.

Jessica Stuart, a senior from Brownsburg, Ind., was honored at the spring convention of the College Media Advisers in New York City on March 14-16.

Stuart received a $5,000 scholarship and an all-expenses-paid trip to New York for the National College Media Convention, co-sponsored by the Associated Collegiate Press and College Media Advisers. Her student newspaper, IU's Indiana Daily Student, also received a $5,000 grant.

Stuart currently serves as the photo editor for the Arbutus, IU's yearbook, and as the visual coordinator for special projects at the Indiana Daily Student. She also has served as the photo assistant for the IU School of Journalism's High School Journalism Institute.

The competition is sponsored by the Scripps Howard Foundation in cooperation with College Media Advisers.

The competition was open to staffers of any college newspaper in the United States that publishes at least weekly during the regular school year. Nominees had to be enrolled as full-time students in the college or university. They were not required to be journalism or communications majors, and they could work in any department of the newspaper.

The competition was judged by Fran Kentling, administrative editor of The Wichita Eagle; Jack Willis, student awards committee chairman for College Media Advisers; and Dan K. Thomasson, retired vice president/news for Scripps Howard newspapers and retired editor of Scripps Howard News Service.

College Media Advisers, with more than 700 members coast to coast, represents the people who advise the nation's collegiate newspapers, yearbooks, magazines and electronic media.