Indiana University

Skip to:

  1. Search
  2. Breadcrumb Navigation
  3. Content
  4. Browse by Topic
  5. Services & Resources
  6. Additional Resources
  7. Multimedia News

Last modified: Friday, March 31, 2006

Indiana University to celebrate Founders Day 2006

March 31, 2006

BLOOMINGTON, Ind. -- Indiana University will celebrate Founders Day on Sunday (April 2) in IU Bloomington's Assembly Hall. The 2 p.m. ceremony will salute university founders, pay tribute to a colorful historical legacy, and applaud outstanding students from its Bloomington campus and 20 award-winning teachers university-wide.

IU President Adam W. Herbert will preside over the ceremony with a welcome and remarks. Charles R. Bantz, executive vice president and chancellor at IUPUI, will announce the Distinguished Teaching Awards.

Michael A. McRobbie, interim provost and vice president for academic affairs at IU Bloomington, will present the IUB honor students, and Kirk T. Walda, an honor student and the recipient of the Elvis J. Stahr Distinguished Senior Award, will offer student remarks.

Sixteen faculty members and four master's and doctoral students will be recognized for outstanding teaching, research or service to the university. The award recipients teach at IU's Bloomington, Indianapolis, Kokomo, Gary and Richmond campuses.

Six IU professors will be elevated to the rank of Distinguished Professor. They are: Peter Burkholder, a musicologist in the IU Jacobs School of Music; Marion Broome, a researcher in the field of pain in children and infants from the School of Nursing at IUPUI; Ellen Ketterson, an evolutionary biologist in the Department of Biology and the Department of Gender Studies at IU Bloomington; Alan Kostelecky, a physicist at IU Bloomington; and Robert Nosofsky, Chancellor's Professor of Psychology and Joseph Steinmetz, the Elanor Cox Riggs Professor of Psychology, both at IU Bloomington.

Mark Hoyert, professor of psychology at IU Northwest, will receive the Herman Frederic Lieber Memorial Award for distinguished teaching. The Frederic Bachman Lieber Memorial Award, which also recognizes outstanding teaching, will go to Michael Evans, associate professor in the IU Bloomington School of Journalism.

The Frederic Bachman Lieber Award was established in 1954 by Katie D. Bachman in honor of her grandson. The Herman Frederic Lieber Award was originally sponsored by the IU Foundation and is now sponsored by Mrs. Herman Lieber of Indianapolis.

Mary Fisher, professor of nursing in the School of Nursing at IUPUI, and Margo Sorgman, professor of education at IU Kokomo, will receive the President's Award, established in 1974 to recognize outstanding teaching, research or service on all of IU's campuses.

T.J. Rivard, associate professor of English at IU East, will be recognized with the Sylvia E. Bowman Award. Bowman, a respected scholar and author, gave 34 years of service to IU as a professor, academic administrator and chancellor for regional campus administration. The Bowman Award, established in 1994, honors exemplary faculty members in discipline areas related to American civilization.

Four IU Bloomington graduate students will receive Lieber Memorial Teaching Associate Awards. They are: Jeff Dixon, a doctoral student in sociology; Nicholas Henriksen, a master's student in Spanish and Portuguese; Celia Rasmussen, a doctoral student in English; and Vance Schaefer, a master's student in East Asian languages and cultures. All are students at IU Bloomington.

The W. George Pinnell Award for Outstanding Service will be given to Linda Delunas, an associate professor in the School of Nursing at IU Northwest; Catherine Olmer, a professor of physics at IU Bloomington; and Dennis Peters, the Herman T. Briscoe Professor of Chemistry at IU Bloomington.

The University Faculty Council established the Pinnell Award in 1988, honoring the memory of the former executive vice president of the university who also served during his career as president of the IU Foundation and dean of IU's Kelley School of Business. Pinnell was known for his stewardship, leadership, initiative and service to the university, the state and the national government. The award recognizes faculty members or librarians who have shown exceptional breadth of involvement and depth of commitment in service to the university, their profession or the public.

Named as the recipient of the John W. Ryan Award for distinguished contributions to international programs is Denis Sinor, distinguished professor emeritus in the Department of Central Eurasian Studies, Uralic and Altaic Studies at IU Bloomington. The Ryan Award was initiated in 1991 and named for the man who was president of IU from 1971 to 1987. Ryan, now president emeritus, was instrumental in fostering IU's commitment to excellence in international education. The award honors faculty members or librarians who have made exceptional contributions to the university's international programs and studies.

Anne Belcher, an associate professor of nursing at IUPUI, will receive the Thomas Ehrlich Award for Service Learning, which is presented annually to an IU professor who has shown particular merit in service learning. The award is named after Thomas Ehrlich, who served as IU's president from 1987 to 1994.

In addition to the teaching award winner and a procession of the Bloomington honor students, the following IUB students will be acknowledged during the ceremony: Molly Brooks, Elvis J. Stahr Distinguished Senior Award; Kathleen E. Claussen, George J. Mitchell Scholar and Herman B Wells Senior Recognition Award; Kathleen Gettelfinger, Elvis J. Stahr Distinguished Senior Award; Deepam Rusia, Elvis J. Stahr Distinguished Senior Award; Owen Sutkowski, Elvis J. Stahr Distinguished Senior Award; and Kirk T. Walda, Elvis J. Stahr Distinguished Senior Award.

For complete biographical information on Distinguished Teaching Award recipients and photos, use the following links.