Indiana University

Skip to:

  1. Search
  2. Breadcrumb Navigation
  3. Content
  4. Browse by Topic
  5. Services & Resources
  6. Additional Resources
  7. Multimedia News

Media Contacts

George Vlahakis

Last modified: Monday, May 6, 2002

IU journalism students win Hearst awards

Two Indiana University journalism students have been selected as winners in the William Randolph Hearst Journalism Awards Program.

Cory Schouten, a sophomore from Indianapolis majoring in journalism, placed seventh in the Hearst Foundation's spot news writing contest. Schouten was selected from 57 students at 33 universities and colleges participating in the contest. He earned a $500 scholarship, and the IU School of Journalism received a matching grant.

Christina Jewett, a senior from Griffith, Ind., and the spring editor-in-chief of the Indiana Daily Student, placed 13th in the same contest. She was a winner earlier this year in Hearst's in-depth writing contest.

The Hearst Journalism Awards Program, now in its 42nd year, is conducted under the auspices of accredited schools of journalism in the Association of Schools of Journalism and Mass Communication, and it is fully funded by the William Randolph Hearst Foundation. It consists of six monthly writing contests, a photojournalism competition and a broadcast news competition, with championship finals in all divisions.

Judging the spot news contest were high-level editors at the Philadelphia Inquirer, the San Diego Union-Tribune, Newsday and the Los Angeles Times.