Indiana University

Skip to:

  1. Search
  2. Breadcrumb Navigation
  3. Content
  4. Browse by Topic
  5. Services & Resources
  6. Additional Resources
  7. Multimedia News

Media Contacts

Last modified: Tuesday, June 27, 2006

IU Trustees name presidential search and faculty advisory committees

June 27, 2006

INDIANAPOLIS -- The Indiana University Board of Trustees today (June 27) appointed a 12-member committee to begin the search for a new university president.

Trustee Sue H. Talbot will chair the panel, which includes representation from all major university constituencies, including faculty, alumni, donors, community leaders and students. The panel will formally begin work in September, but trustees will work on the search this summer, determining criteria to select a new president and selecting a search consultant.

The board also appointed a 12-member faculty advisory panel to work with the search committee. The panel was chosen to ensure a broad cross-section of representation from the various campuses and schools that make up Indiana University. The panel will help the search committee formulate selection criteria, review dossiers and recommend candidates for interviews.

IU President Adam W. Herbert has two years remaining on his five-year contract, but he recommended that the search for his replacement get under way this year because presidential searches can be time-consuming and do not always bear fruit on the first attempt. Herbert has said that if a new president is identified before his tenure ends, he may step down as president and serve the university in another capacity.

Stephen L. Ferguson, president of the IU Board of Trustees, declined to set a completion date for the process, saying the search will continue for as long it takes to find fully qualified nominees.

"The presidency of a leading research university requires an extraordinary set of leadership skills, talent and experience," Ferguson said. "Finding candidates who meet these requirements will be no easy task. It will require a great deal of diligence on the part of our committee members. I am pleased that all those who have volunteered to serve bring strong records of accomplishment to the table as well as strong ties to Indiana University. I am very confident that they are up to this important task."

Ferguson and Talbot both stressed that the faculty advisory committee would play a central role in the selection process.

"This is in keeping with our commitment to shared governance and broad representation from all campuses," Talbot said. "We want to be sure our faculty members are engaged in every step of this process."

Talbot noted that to ensure the committee is able to review the broadest possible range of candidates, it will maintain strict confidentiality in its deliberations. There will be no public discussion of potential nominees.

"We want to assure every potential candidate that his or her possible interest in this position will not be disclosed during the review process," Talbot said. "We intend to cast a wide net and seek out individuals who have truly distinguished themselves in positions of high responsibility."

Talbot is one of three trustees serving on the search committee. The others are Dr. Clarence W. Boone of Gary and Thomas E. Reilly Jr., Indianapolis.

Listings of the Search Committee and the Faculty Advisory Committee follow. Two faculty members not yet confirmed will be added to the advisory committee in the next few days.

Members of the Search Committee -- 2006 Presidential Search

Sue H. Talbot -- IU Trustee, chair of search committee

Bruce Bergland -- Chancellor, IU Northwest

Clarence W. Boone Sr. - IU Trustee

Marion E. Broome -- Distinguished Professor, University Dean, School of Nursing, Indiana University-Purdue University Indianapolis

David E. Clemmer -- Robert and Marjorie Mann Chair, Department of Chemistry, College of Arts and Sciences, IU Bloomington

Daniel F. Evans Jr. -- President and Chief Executive Officer of Clarian Health Partners; J.D. Indiana University 1976

Jerrol Z. Miles -- IU Southeast Board of Advisors member (president 1997-1999) and former Senior Vice President and Manager of Special Credits Department, National City Bank, Louisville; B.S., Kelley School of Business, Indiana University 1970

Theodore K. Miller -- Professor of Public and Environmental Affairs and Senior Co-Secretary, University Faculty Council, and liaison to the Faculty Advisory Committee

The Honorable V. Sue Shields -- Magistrate Judge, United States District Court, Southern District of Indiana; J.D. Indiana University 1961

Thomas E. Reilly Jr. -- IU Trustee

Desmond C. Wong -- President & CEO, Sino Strategies Group, LLC, Chicago and IU Foundation Board of Directors member; B.S. Indiana University 1973

Representative of the All University Student Association, not yet named

Ex Officio Search Committee Members: Stephen L. Ferguson -- President, IU Board of Trustees; Robin Roy Gress -- Secretary of the IU Board of Trustees; Julie Knost -- IU Office of Affirmative Action

Faculty Advisory Group -- 2006 Presidential Search

Simon J. Atkinson -- Associate Professor of Medicine, Biochemistry and Molecular Biology, School of Medicine, IUPUI; president of School of Medicine Faculty Council

Ronald B. Finkbine -- Associate Professor of Computer Science, School of Natural Sciences, IU Southeast; president of IU Southeast Faculty Senate

John M. Hassell -- OneAmerica Chair and Professor of Accounting, Kelley School of Business, Indiana University-Purdue University Indianapolis

Susan Hendricks -- Associate Professor of Nursing, School of Nursing, IU Kokomo

Sheila Jackson-Armstead -- Clinical Assistant Professor of Social Work, Division of Behavioral and Social Sciences, IU East

Kathy E. Johnson -- Associate Professor of Psychology, School of Science, Director of Cognitive Development Laboratory, Indiana University-Purdue University Indianapolis

James H. Madison -- Thomas Milton and Kathryn Owens Miller Professor of History, College of Arts and Sciences, Director of Liberal Arts and Management Program, IU Bloomington

Michael B. Metzger -- Jean Ann and Donald E. Foster Chair and Professor in Business Ethics, Kelley School of Business, IU Bloomington

Jeffrey Palmer -- Distinguished Professor, Class of 1955 Endowed Professor and Chair of Biology, College of Arts and Sciences, IU Bloomington

John W. Schrader -- Clinical Professor, Department of Kinesiology, School of Health, Physical Education and Recreation, IU Bloomington