Indiana University

Skip to:

  1. Search
  2. Breadcrumb Navigation
  3. Content
  4. Browse by Topic
  5. Services & Resources
  6. Additional Resources
  7. Multimedia News

Last modified: Friday, July 14, 2006

Final appointments made to presidential search and advisory committees

July 14, 2006

BLOOMINGTON, Ind. -- The Board of Trustees has made final appointments to the Presidential Search Committee and the Faculty Advisory Committee. The first appointments to these groups were made June 27 in anticipation of beginning the search to replace IU President Adam W. Herbert.

Trustee Sue H. Talbot, chair of the search committee, said Lauren Robel, Val Nolan Professor of Law and dean of the School of Law-Bloomington, will join the 12-member panel. A student representative will be named in the fall.

Also three additional members have been appointed to the Faculty Advisory Committee: Carolyn Calloway-Thomas, associate professor of communication and culture, IU Bloomington; Susan W. Cress, associate professor of early childhood education, IU South Bend; and Adelheid M. M. Gealt, associate professor, Hope School of Fine Arts and director, Indiana University Art Museum, IU Bloomington.

Talbot said the committees are now complete and will begin work early in the fall.

Herbert has two years remaining on his five-year contract, but he recommended that the search for his replacement get under way this year because presidential searches can be time-consuming and do not always bear fruit on the first attempt. Herbert has said that if a new president is identified before his tenure ends, he may step down as president and serve the university in another capacity.

Stephen L. Ferguson, president of the IU Board of Trustees, declined to set a completion date for the process, saying the search will continue for as long it takes to find fully qualified nominees.

Complete listing of members of the Search Committee -- 2006 Presidential Search

Sue H. Talbot -- IU Trustee, chair of search committee

Bruce Bergland -- Chancellor, IU Northwest

Clarence W. Boone Sr. - IU Trustee

Marion E. Broome -- Distinguished Professor, University Dean, School of Nursing, Indiana University-Purdue University Indianapolis

David E. Clemmer -- Robert and Marjorie Mann Chair, Department of Chemistry, College of Arts and Sciences, IU Bloomington

Daniel F. Evans Jr. -- President and Chief Executive Officer of Clarian Health Partners; J.D. Indiana University 1976

Jerrol Z. Miles -- IU Southeast Board of Advisors member (president 1997-1999) and former Senior Vice President and Manager of Special Credits Department, National City Bank, Louisville; B.S., Kelley School of Business, Indiana University 1970

Theodore K. Miller -- Professor of Public and Environmental Affairs and Senior Co-Secretary, University Faculty Council, and liaison to the Faculty Advisory Committee

Lauren Robel -- Val Nolan Professor of Law and dean of the School of Law-Bloomington

The Honorable V. Sue Shields -- Magistrate Judge, United States District Court, Southern District of Indiana; J.D. Indiana University 1961

Thomas E. Reilly Jr. -- IU Trustee

Desmond C. Wong -- President & CEO, Sino Strategies Group, LLC, Chicago and IU Foundation Board of Directors member; B.S. Indiana University 1973

Representative of the All University Student Association, not yet named

Ex Officio Search Committee Members: Stephen L. Ferguson -- President, IU Board of Trustees; Robin Roy Gress -- Secretary of the IU Board of Trustees; Julie Knost -- IU Office of Affirmative Action

Complete listing of members of the Faculty Advisory Group -- 2006 Presidential Search

Simon J. Atkinson -- Associate Professor of Medicine, Biochemistry and Molecular Biology, School of Medicine, IUPUI; president of School of Medicine Faculty Council

Carolyn Calloway-Thomas -- Associate Professor of Communication and Culture, IU Bloomington

Susan W. Cress, Associate Professor of Early Childhood Education, IU South Bend

Ronald B. Finkbine -- Associate Professor of Computer Science, School of Natural Sciences, IU Southeast; president of IU Southeast Faculty Senate

Adelheid M. M. Gealt, Associate Professor of Fine Arts, Hope School of Fine Arts; and Director, Indiana University Art Museum, IU Bloomington

John M. Hassell -- OneAmerica Chair and Professor of Accounting, Kelley School of Business, Indiana University-Purdue University Indianapolis

Susan Hendricks -- Associate Professor of Nursing, School of Nursing, IU Kokomo

Sheila Jackson-Armstead -- Clinical Assistant Professor of Social Work, Division of Behavioral and Social Sciences, IU East

Kathy E. Johnson -- Associate Professor of Psychology, School of Science, Director of Cognitive Development Laboratory, Indiana University-Purdue University Indianapolis

James H. Madison -- Thomas Milton and Kathryn Owens Miller Professor of History, College of Arts and Sciences, Director of Liberal Arts and Management Program, IU Bloomington

Michael B. Metzger -- Jean Ann and Donald E. Foster Chair and Professor in Business Ethics, Kelley School of Business, IU Bloomington

Jeffrey Palmer -- Distinguished Professor, Class of 1955 Endowed Professor and Chair of Biology, College of Arts and Sciences, IU Bloomington

John W. Schrader -- Clinical Professor, Department of Kinesiology, School of Health, Physical Education and Recreation, IU Bloomington