Indiana University

Skip to:

  1. Search
  2. Breadcrumb Navigation
  3. Content
  4. Browse by Topic
  5. Services & Resources
  6. Additional Resources
  7. Multimedia News

Media Contacts

George Vlahakis

Last modified: Thursday, May 9, 2002

IU Bloomington chancellor names new members of Board of Aeons


BLOOMINGTON, Ind. -- Indiana University Bloomington Chancellor Sharon Stephens Brehm has announced the new members she has appointed to fill vacancies on the Board of Aeons, a student advisory panel for the campus.

The 12-member board meets regularly with the chancellor to discuss current campus topics and issues. Members are nominated by faculty and staff. They complete an application and provide a letter of reference. A committee narrows the size of the applicants' group and schedules personal interviews before recommending finalists to Brehm who makes the final selections.

The process is designed to identify students who show academic and leadership skills and who will have attained junior or senior class status by fall. They are expected to have a lively and inquiring mind, be mature and responsible and have an interest in enhancing the quality of the IU Bloomington campus and the university. Members remain on the board until they graduate.

The Board of Aeons was established in 1921 and has given IU Bloomington leadership a student perspective ever since then.

The new members are:

-- Brian Burt, a junior majoring in secondary English education from Grand Rapids, Mich.

-- Tristan Dee, a junior majoring in biochemistry from Louisville, Ky.

-- Chris Hansen, a sophomore majoring in informatics from Fort Wayne, Ind.

-- Megan Hise, a senior majoring in economics from Indianapolis.

-- Hope Marasco, a senior majoring in Spanish and communications and culture from Columbus, Ind.

-- Marshawn Wolley, a senior majoring in political science and Afro-American studies from Indianapolis.