Indiana University

Skip to:

  1. Search
  2. Breadcrumb Navigation
  3. Content
  4. Browse by Topic
  5. Services & Resources
  6. Additional Resources
  7. Multimedia News

Media Contacts

George Vlahakis
IU Media Relations

Cheryl Nolting
The Roy F. and Joann Cole Mitte Foundation

Timothy L. Smith
Kelley School of Business MBA Program

Missty B. Warren
Kelley School of Business Undergraduate Program

Last modified: Monday, October 2, 2006

Mitte scholarships and fellowships awarded to students in IU's Kelley School

Oct. 2, 2006

EDITORS: This news release is about someone from your circulation area.

BLOOMINGTON, Ind. -- Seventy students at Indiana University's Kelley School of Business are receiving scholarships resulting from an educational scholarship gift of $5.4 million from the Roy F. and Joann Cole Mitte Foundation of Austin, Texas.

They include 27 new undergraduate recipients, or Mitte Scholars, and five new graduate student recipients.

The gift has resulted in undergraduate scholarships valued at $5,000 each for the Bloomington campus. With a match from the Kelley School, the total number of scholarships increases to 80 at the end of four years. In addition, IU will double the fellowship funds from $5,000 to $10,000 for 10 Mitte graduate fellowships. This is the third year of the program.

The Mitte Foundation was established about 10 years ago and has become the largest business scholarship program in the nation. The Kelley School was chosen to participate after an extensive selection process. Mitte business scholarship programs also are in place at Texas A&M University, Ohio State University, St. Edward's University and Pennsylvania State University. The foundation's largest scholarship program, which is university-wide, is at Texas State University-San Marcos. The Mitte family has been highly successful in insurance and real estate endeavors.

In addition to academic success, Mitte scholarship recipients are chosen based on leadership, community service, work experience, accomplishments and communication skills. Recipients must commit time toward voluntary community service and participate in the Mitte Society student organization.

Below is a complete list of the new scholarship recipients and their hometowns:

Undergraduate recipients:

Patrick Andress, Indianapolis
Amy Axelrod, West Chicago, Ill.
Ethan Bradley Columbus, Ind.
Erin Bruner, Dillsboro, Ind.
Sarah Kathleen Casey, Evansville, Ind.
Michael Chanzis, East Meadow, N.Y.
Lindsey Dell, Noblesville, Ind.
Nicholas D. Edquist, LaPorte, Ind.
Kathryn Everett, Glenview, Ill.
Kara Findley, Indianapolis
Benjamin Fox, Elizabeth, Ind.
Katherine Gravatt, Leo, Ind.
Emily Kasavana, Williamston, Mich.
Eugenia C. Koo, Scarsdale, N.Y.
Garrett Koschak, Lake Villa, Ill.
Christina Lavash, West Chester, Ohio
Kenny Marshall, South Bend, Ind.
Greg McHenry, Carmel, Ind.
Meredith Marie Metallic, Westfield, Ind.
Richard Parrish, Indianapolis
Dan Quinn, Yorktown, Ind.
Jordan Rappaport, Marlboro, N.J.
Elizabeth Riley, Milwaukee, Wis.
William A. Shepherd, Brownsburg, Ind.
Clay Matthew Turner, Lexington, Ky.
James V. Weible, Chesterfield, Mo.
Derek Zacarias, Greenwood, Ind.

MBA recipients:

Jordan Butler, Fishers, Ind.
Matthew Christensen, Lawrence, Kan.
David Landers, San Antonio, Texas
Kevin Reckelhoff, Avon, Ind.
Ling Tsui, Tamuning, Guam